How I Learned To Play Guitar And My Very First Demos On SoundCloud

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Hello there, fellow Steem users! Today I decided to write a couple of lines on my learning experience with guitar as well as to briefly describe the recording process of my very first few demos of mine covering several classic rock songs by such bands as Led Zeppelin, Lynyrd Skynyrd, America, or Creedence Clearwater Revival.


A blue-shaded acoustic six string guitar, a musical notebook, and a yellow plectrum. Image source: Pixabay.com

First off, let me begin by saying that I started playing this musical instrument relatively recently, roughly three months ago. The guitar that I currently have is an acoustic six string Harley Benton that I bought back in the late autumn of 2018. At that time, I decided to go with an acoustic western guitar as a beginner because I thought it was well worth the price and, on top of that, it could potentially serve me well as an initial tool for learning enough in order to go to the next level by switching to an electric later on.

The way I learned playing it was by doing, meaning that I watched many online Youtube tutorials on how to perform a lot of classic rock songs by bands or solo artists that I have been listening to since my childhood and adolescence days. Those songs included America's 'A Horse With No Name', Creedence Clearwater Revival's 'Bad Moon Rising', or Pink Floyd' 'Wish You Were Here'.

Though not all of them had been originally played on acoustic, the fact that I also played tunes adapted for electric guitar allowed me to practice and memorize more chords. In addition to these Youtube tutorials, I also used Yousician, a very useful application developed by a Finnish company that helps you to learn and play guitar (as well as piano, ukulele, and bass).

To make the long story short for now and summarize my personal progress, here are the SoundCloud links for my demo covers that I recorded earlier this month with my acoustic six string Harley Benton and the built-in MacBook Pro mid 2011 microphone. I hope you will enjoy listening to the following demos and please let me know what you think of my playing so far. I highly appreciate any feedback. Cheers!

Demo cover list (all links below will redirect you to SoundCloud):

  1. Led Zeppelin - When The Levee Breaks
  2. Pink Floyd - Breathe/Wish You Were Here
  3. Lynyrd Skynyrd - Sweet Home Alabama/Marshall Tucker Band - Can't You See
Sort:  

🏆 Hi @vikthor! You have received 1.0 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @dragosroua
Subscribe and increase the reward for @vikthor :) | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03