Introduction post - I'm VITNE

in #music5 years ago

Thanks to @planktongrow for being the first to comment, which brought me to a guide stressing the importance of an introduction post.

I am a Norwegian musician under the name VITNE which means "witness" in Norwegian. I've been releasing music under that name since 2013 - my entire discography is at https://vitne.bandcamp.com - Stylistically, my older stuff is more 80s-era glam metal and my newer stuff is bordering on symphonic metal (especially the unreleased stuff).

I grew up in the US in the 90s and was in high school in the early 2000s. During that time, pop punk was massive, Britney Spears was popular, all that good stuff. It was also still a time when the dream of a musician was to get signed, or "discovered." That was firmly ingrained in our minds. The Napster era happened and I was part of it. There was something called WinMX - I discovered a lot of great bands that way (and bought many albums as a result). MP3.com was how independent bands promoted their music, we spoke through AIM and most websites were simple HTML. I think some website frames were still around at that point.

I had a difficult time shaking those old school ideas and expectations of the music industry. But 2015 I did - I embraced Creative Commons as an artist and it has been one of the best things I have done. Then came blockchain-based services like Ujo, Choon, Musicoin, and dSound. I love supporting and being a part of new and exciting stuff, especially when there is an avid community around it. dSound in particular seems really community-oriented, and I like that. I also gravitate toward the different. Maybe that's because I was a bit strange to people in high school: I played flute in the marching band yet also skateboarded and played bass in a punk band.

Allowing my music to be downloaded for free resonates with these thoughts. I don't want money to get in the way of someone listening. I know it sounds cheesy, but if a song of mine can help someone or mean something to someone, that's pretty special. We all have enough bills to worry about constantly and we have to live our life - and we need a good soundtrack to it! There's plenty of ways to get my music for free - and if you enjoy it, consider buying it from Bandcamp or tipping or whatever to help me make more music.

Thanks and excited to be part of dSound and Steemit!

vitne face bg.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87