7-Day Wayback Music Challenge: Day 1 ~ Tracy Chapman - Baby Can I Hold You

in #music6 years ago (edited)
I had just finished primary school. My parents felt I needed a change of environment, somewhere new, so my dad called his elder brother in Shagamu, Ogun State and asked him to accommodate my tiny self for a few weeks. Luckily, my uncle was in Benin to check on some projects he was running then. He and his wife had always had a soft spot for me, so they quickly accepted and soon I was bundled into my dad’s car and carried to Benin to meet up with them. My cousins were glad to see me too, though I was younger than all of them. We spent the weekend in Benin and on a Sunday, I was in the western part of Nigeria for the first time in my life.

They lived in a four bedroom flat and I had to share rooms with two of my young cousins but I never stayed in the room except when I wanted to sleep. The reason was simple; my eldest cousin had novels in his own room.

One day, rummaging about in his room, I saw a dusty cd. The cover was of an ebony man with dreads. I didn’t know what it was about, I just knew the name was Tracy Chapman. I decided, out of curiousity, to listen to it and I heard the song; *Baby Can I Hold You*. It was beautiful and the man’s voice was weirdly feminine but I loved it. I played the cd back to back until my cousin came and met me there. He laughed when I told him I loved the man’s song. Tracy Chapman is a woman, he said.

Tracy Chapman playing live

Sorry,
It’s all that you can say,
Years gone by and still,
Words don’t come easily
Like sorry, like sorry

Forgive me,
It’s all that you can say,
Years gone by and still,
Words don’t come easily
Like forgive me, forgive me.

But you can say; baby,
Baby can I hold you tonight?
Maybe if I told you the right words
Ooh at the right time,
You’ll be mine.

Till today the song remains one of my favourite songs of longing. There have been time, lonely and sad, depressed and broken, the song had kept me company and I had wept to the deep sad tones of Chapman’s voice. The lyrics of the song are words that everyone who has been in a relationship would or can relate with.


There is sadness in the song, longing, love, pain and there are those things which we find difficult to say. Those words that creep to our throats, choke us and leave us breathless. There are those emotions that steal to the surface of our skins but never come out because our hands are folded over our breasts like armor, like vests, like we are at war. It is like poetry;

Are we at war?
Your lips quiver with hidden thoughts,
Your eyes brim with hidden questions,
Your hands quake with hidden needs;
Are we at war?

Why can’t your words find my ears?
Your thoughts find my heart?
Your needs find my hands?
Why darling, are we at war?


DQmd1hN5ZyaztfpZWLNjkV8WMMK1us8Jx3iFMAuudLbecAK_1680x8400.png


I was nominated by @erodedthoughts for this challenge. I nominate @fourfourfun. I don’t know if he has been nominated before though.


Hey folks, this is Oskilo's blog and he would love to read your suggestions on how to make this blog better serve you. He would like to know what you, his reader, think of the content so do not forget to leave a comment; you just might have something he needs.

Peace.

©warpedpoetic, 2018.


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

Interesting ,you remember all that nice history.good memories are always good to tell.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by warpedpoetic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your post has been upvoted by the @steemiansarens. Our goal is to support minnows and help them grow. You can join our discord server here and Whastapp here.. You can also support us by either contributing steem or delegating SP to us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00