New Indie Rock: Low Cut High Tops - Cigarettes and Wine

in #music6 years ago (edited)

RIIIING
(me, calling one of my friends)

CLICK

“Hello?” she says.
“Hey, quick question. Do cigarettes and wine go together?” I ask.
“Oh boy, do they…”
“Thanks, I’m just trying to have a better understanding of this song’s context before I write my blurb about it.” I say as I jot this all down in my notepad.
“For that blog you write for?”
“We Are: The Guard?” I ask.
“No, the other one,” she scoffs.
“Oh shit they’re not supposed to know about the other one,” I say under my breath, not entirely sure why I’m still typing it here right now and giving everything away like some super villain explaining his plan to steal all of the world’s power crystals to grind down into fuel for his killer robot army.
“What’s the song?” she finally asks, saving me from myself.
“Oh, um, Low Cut High Tops - ‘Cigarettes and Wine.’ It’s going to be released through We Are: The Guard’s label on June 6th.” I say, confidently aware for the first time of what I’m supposed to be blurbing.
“I can’t wait to listen to it. Send me the link when it’s out,” she says.
“You’re reading it right now,” I say.
“Oh well— where’s the link?”
“Right here:”

LOW CUT HIGH TOPS - CIGARETTES AND WINE

David Burns is a man of simple tastes.

After all, cigarettes, wine, and a fine partner in love and grime is all a man needs, right? (Just ask Elon Musk, amiright?)

Add some lo-fi jangly guitar, the voice of a cracked-out angel and the subject fantasy of every male aged fifteen to thirty-five. Let’s fall in love with women that are patently wrong for us, just because we go together in the enablement destruction of our bodies, only to have our hearts broken and end up writing hit songs about how the good times are better than the no times or better to have loved and smoked than not loved at all. If this isn’t what life is all about, then I don’t know what is.

After about 35 consecutive listens of this song I think it’s permanently ingrained in my brain and if I don’t stop listening soon I’ll be headed off to the wine bar to try and pick up some questionable woman to chain-smoke through a pack of Marlboro Reds with. I don’t even smoke, but this song is subliminally convincing me that it’s the best thing for me right now.

With each new single Low Cut High Tops cements his place as a quirky, indie powerhouse and I can’t wait to hear what’s next, except this is what’s next. So now is what we get and I have to wait like a patient boy.

Follow Low Cut High Tops:
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/6jyzpBdGoCLuQdqf4A2uZC?si=xTbN2McYT2apWDtNW8_Y2g
SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/low-cut-high-tops
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Lowcuthightops
Instagram:https://www.instagram.com/lowcuthightops/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/lowcuthightops

Brought to you by We Are: The Guard: https://www.wearetheguard.com/

Sort:  

Congratulations @wearetheguard! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78