Recording is difficult #6 - Recording is easier than I thought.

in #music5 years ago

This whole attempt at recording has proved to be WAY easier than I thought. It's a lot like playing bass though, easy to play something that sounds decent, extremely difficult to play something that sounds great.

But the hard part is subtle, it's all about balance. And subtlety is something I've always struggled with.

The big take away from this attempt is the knowledge that it's possible to make something I love...not just possible in the sense that I can do it one day...possible in that I can do it TODAY if I am focused enough.

I'm already making demos that I'm much happier with than the ones my friends had helped me with, which says nothing about their ability but more about my own involvement with the process. I had felt that I was responsible for the core ingredients and recipe and that someone else was responsible for the dirty work. I didn't frame it like this but it's eassentially how I felt behind everything.

Now that I'm working on sculpting the songs on my own, I can figure out where they want to go and don't need to relay everything to someone else.

It's not worth blaming myself for not taking such a direct role though. My conditions have improved significantly. My back issues have become more manageable. I have a desk. I've made it back to the place I wanted to live and got my hands on a mic, interface, headphones and software. I have an income again, however small.

Without any of these things, I don't think I'd before right now. I needed to set up the conditions first.

I know I should be putting more time and energy into song 1 but I felt too excited to try out some other songs so I recorded a rough take of song 2 already. The prospect of exploring what they songs could grow into is still way more exciting then trying to clean them up!

Songs 2 (not the Blur song) was my chance to go crazy with effects. I went overboard and it sounds amazing and totally unbalanced. It's a 10 minute song and already has 6 tracks so it's going to take a lot of work to clean up.

Knowing me I'll probably record rough demos of everything before I try to make anything perfect. I'll have to share the results this week!

P_20181231_153407.jpg

Come take a look inside my mind at I+Everything

Sort:  

And you are no longer a pineapple but I’m still calling you pineapple anyway 😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

that's pine by me

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 99 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.002 which ranks you at #1096 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1094).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #169.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20