Thrift Finds Tuesday #6: Vinyl Record Finds

in #music6 years ago

One of my favourite things to look for while going to thrift stores, yard sales etc. is vinyl records.
The hunt for them recently has went from having two, to three purposes.
Initially the main reason I was getting them was I really enjoyed displaying my favourite vinyl finds, almost as if they were posters, although I have stopped doing that in the past couple of years.
Sometimes I will use songs that I get from them when I am DJing, especially in the case where it is a rare song that I could not find elsewhere, and it fits my mix.
The most recent venture with them is to sample them for producing music.
I have always done original based music production but lately I have felt the itch to do sample based production!
A few series on YouTube such as Rhythm Roulette, The Crate, Crate Diggers etc., a few producers that I am friends with who are big into sampling, and also the fact that Hip Hop was founded on sampling records all have inspired me to get into it.
I have only made a few beats from samples thus far but as I get more comfortable with it I will probably start sharing them on here.
I picked up around 30 records with my latest haul and here's a breakdown of 5 of the most interesting ones from it.
IMG_3319.JPG
Bonzo Dog Band - I'm The Urban Spaceman
One thing I typically look at when deciding on buying a record or not is where it was recorded and what instruments they used. This record however was one [unfortunately of many] that did not list this information anywhere that I could see.
So what led me to getting this record? The group name and the album title of course! 😂
With such a ridiculous name for both I was really intrigued to hear what this would sound like.
In the end it was about as strange as I thought it would be. Almost reminds me of some of the more experimental songs from The Beatles.
IMG_3343.JPG
The Animals - The Animals
With this record based off their name and also how they looked I thought they would sound similar to The Beatles and The Monkees and I was right haha. One of my favourite songs came near the end of side b. This will be a tough one to sample from but I like a challenge!
IMG_3357.JPG
Mike Oldfield - Tubular Bells
I thought it would just mostly be tubular bells which would make for a good single sound to sample from but I was surprised to find there is a lot of good instrumentation on it. I also was thinking it was going to be more orchestra type music but in turned out to be more so trippy 70's music!
IMG_3391.JPG
Peaches & Herb - 2 Hot
I must have only took a quick glance at the cover of this because I originally thought it was going to be more so some late 80's Pop/R+B but it turned out to be pure disco. Now that I look at it I can see that it looks more 70's then anything. It ended up having a lot of real gems on it; I can see myself getting a few songs out of this one to sample.
IMG_3432.JPG
Stargard- Stargard
When I was looking at this one I thought it was going to be disco record and this time I was right! There are some really nice harmonies and instrumentation on it. It probably has the best chance of me sampling out of the 5 records I have in this post. I haven't got many disco records in the past but after listening to the last two in this post I am convinced that I have to keep my eyes peeled for more of them!

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87