Thrift Finds Tuesday #7: Vinyl Record Finds

in #music6 years ago

I had a pretty decent haul over the weekend again!
However, I still had some records I wanted to talk about from last weeks haul so the new records I got this weekend will have to wait for another Thrift Finds Tuesday.
Toronto - Girls Night Out.JPG

Toronto - Girls Night Out

I pretty much got what I was expecting from this album cover. I was thinking it would be some 80's Glam Rock with a bit of an edge to it and that was pretty spot on. In fact, I was reminded a lot of Pat Benatar's music on this album. I used to BMX to Pat's music so that made me like this album a bit more than I probably would have haha.
I was drawn in by the fact that they are named Toronto. I was thinking I could sample something from it and then try to pitch it to a Toronto based artist haha but I think it is going to be really tough to get a good sample out of this.

The Fogarty's - Canadian.JPG

The Fogarty's - Canadian

I figured I may as well continue the Canadian theme since I had this one picked out as well.
I thought this one would be some typical country/folk and I was right but I was not expecting it to be nearly as good as it is. Although it's not exactly my kind of music there are a few really good samples that I could pull from this one. Plus the record was in mint condition so the sound came through real well.

Emerson ,Lake & Palmer - Brain Salad Surgery.JPG

Emerson ,Lake & Palmer - Brain Salad Surgery

This one had such a cool cover I just had to get it!
I don't know exactly what to say about this was one music-wise because it is really all over the place haha.
It has some super cool synths that I want to try to take out but a lot of the time there is drums underneath them so I will have to use some techniques to extract them. There are also some really nice piano sections to use.
Considering this was recorded in 1972-73 it is really impressive considering how much more limited technology for music was then.

Slade - Slayed .JPG

Slade - Slayed?

I think this was my favourite out of this batch. It has that classic rock vibe that you would still hear played in pubs today.
There is a song on Side B that will make for an absolutely insane beat. I checked it on whosampled and it doesn't look like anyone has flipped it [or any songs from this album at all for that matter] yet so I am looking forward to messing with it and seeing what I can make!

Zanfir - The Lonely Shepherd.JPG

Zamfir - The Lonely Shepherd

I am always looking for really different types of music with these records so I can have original samples that no one has used before.
I had to look this one up because I couldn't pinpoint what instrument was mainly being used and it is the panflute. There are some really beautiful arrangements on here that could make for some really cool lo-fi Hip Hop beats.
Unfortunately, that isn't a sub-genre I dabble in but since I am already going out of my comfort zone sampling, I figure I may as well go one step further and try lo-fi!

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

OMG, you are the absolute best! 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71