[Music Discovery] This week I 'ave been mostly listenin' to...

in #musicdiscovery6 years ago (edited)

Flight of the Conchords

Label: Sub Pop

Genre: Comedy rock/Anti-folk

There is so much I want to say about one of the best comedy music acts since Tenacious D, but I might save that for another time. This post is about their second full album, I Told You I Was Freaky which was released in 2009 to massive critical acclaim. The second album is basically the songs from the second season of the hit HBO show, which if you haven't seen you really, really need to.

@calluna and myself were lucky enough to see them live at the Manchester MEN Arena last week, and they were spectacular. They played quite a few songs not from either of their albums, which shows they're still very much a creative team. The stand out performance was clearly Nigel, the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra.

Just in case you don't know them, Flight of the Conchords are a comedy New Zealand band who started off doing some small gigs and the Edinburough Fringe Festival, before getting a BBC radio series (similar to how The Mighty Boosh first started) and then finally their HBO show. Jemaine Clement in particular is quite an accomplished actor too, playing the role of Oliver in one of my favourite shows, Legion as well as for movies like What We Do In The Shadows which is such a good comedy horror movie.

Needless to say, I'm a fairly big fan and I'm so glad I can say I've seen them live!


Are you a fan of Flight of the Conchords? If so, did you watch the two season HBO show they had? Maybe you were one of the few to listen to their BBC radio show? Let me know your thoughts down in the comment section, and as always make sure to follow me for the latest Technology, Internet and Pop Culture updates and if you enjoyed this post don't forget to give it an upvote. Until we meet again, take it easy!


P.S. If you're new here, you might want to check out my Ultimate Beginner's Guide To Steemit, which covers everything you need to know to get started making money and meeting new people on Steemit.

If this post is older than 7 days, please support by upvoting my latest post upvotelatest post

Source:
I Told You I Was Freaky on Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I_Told_You_I_Was_Freaky)

All images and videos are used without the express authorisation of the copyright holders. They are used under what's known in British law as "Fair Dealing" or under US law as "Fair Use" exceptions. For example, exceptions relating to research and private study, criticism or review, or news reporting. For more information visit the UK Gov website or the US Gov website.

Sort:  

I love Flight of the Conchords. That actually makes me really happy to hear they are touring and writing new music - I kind of assumed they were a thing of the past (as a team/band). Dude Jemaine was so good as the bad guy in the Men in Black sequel and his turn as the glam crab in Moana is one of my all time favorite Disney moments.

When I heard some songs I hadn't heard before, a large smile came across my face. Apparently the London Apollo show they did on Monday (I think) has been filmed and will be a live HBO special, so keep an eye out for that!

I love Jermaine, I don't know if you've seen Legion but he is really good in that. I DID NOT KNOW THAT WAS HIM IN MIB3! He is a really good actor, I think he won an emmy for his role in the Flight of the Conchords show.

Here's hoping they actually make the movie!

TIER UPVOTES ARE IN EFFECT!!!
NEW TIER UPVOTES user guide



Current price is 0.12 or 0.121 SBD for 200%, 250%, or 300% upvote based on tier level.

200% ($0.24) - Bronze Level - No requirements
250% ($0.30) - Silver Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 (whichever is possible)
300% ($0.36) - Gold Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 AND 50SP delegation

All delegators make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with an upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71