Music Discovery: Not Only Electro

in #musicdiscovery6 years ago (edited)

Imgur

by freestocks.org on Pixabay


Introduction

Music Discovery is a series I created with the intention to present all Steemians what I listen to - and to discover some great music. These two goals are also two excellent reasons why Music Discovery will not always be the same thing; it will keep changing more or less. I knew that someday, I'd want to create something different than another post with just electronic music. What I didn't anticipate was when "someday" would happen, and the fact that I will receive a lot of great music from my friend @suesa

Pinkzebra

I love this song, but my mind got blown when I found out that Pinkzebra isn't the regular artist. He is music producer who sells music for videos on AudioJungle.net. How unusual is that?

DAVIS

DAVIS is another not very well-known artist. What I love the most about his music is that his songs are simple and have very catchy lyrics. You definitely should check out more of his songs.

People The Kangaroo

I don't know much about this band, all I found out is that they are trio from Los Angeles. I love the video clip to this song, it's very different from what I usually watch.

IVORY HOURS

These guys have amazing ideas for their songs! As they say about themselves:

IVORY HOURS is a group defined by their resistance to convention— their melodies are massive but ethereal

The Neighbourhood

The Neighbourhood is the first recommendation from me in this Music Discovery post. I loved Afraid when I've heard it for the very first time and then I listened to Sweater Weather

I can remember that I found this band because I've seen one video from Cimorelli's German tour in which they were singing Arabella by Arctic Monkeys.

Arctic Monkeys

This one, but probably everyone know this band from UK. Anyway, it led me to Afraid by The Neighbourhood :)

Cimorelli

Sisters from Cimorelli band are really talented and they have very beautiful voices. By the way, their band name is also their last name and it has Italian origin. I remember that on the beginning of their journey into music there was one guy who was playing with them - it was one of their brothers. You should check their new album - Sad Girls Club

I remember these girls teamed up with Subway (yes, the fast-food chain) to realease short series on Youtube. They seems to be even more involved into Youtube these days because they upload a lot of not music related videos with challenges and stuff like that.

Stella And The Storm

Stella And The Storm is the last choice for today. I would love to tell you something more about it, but I wasn't able to find ANYTHING! I don't even know if this band is still active because their last post on Facebook is from 2017 and they have only one post on Instagram (also from 2017). Anyway, enjoy!


Summary

I chose only 5 songs for this post (two by The Neighbourhood, one by Arctic Monkeys and two by Cimorelli). I know I shouldn't go from rock to pop, but this is what happens in my mind when I'm thinking about music. I don't care about genres, I care about what I like and what I want to share. And I had to share songs by Cimorelli because Music Discovery in my life started thanks to them.
I want to say thank you to @suesa for sending me so many great songs. This Music Discovery wouldn't be possible without her recommendations.

Sort:  

And this is how the world learns that I listen to music from bands nobody has ever heard of, who have also probably dropped off of the face of the earth by now. :P

I like your good luck when it comes to finding unknown artists :D I tried doing something like that, but it went wrong for me.

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86