Music Monday (Feel free to add your own music)

The aim is simple, to banish those Monday blues with an eclectic range of music chosen by Steemit friends both old and new.

Music Monday.jpg

Every Monday I intend to post a music video (and a few words explaining my choice) I invite you to join me by doing same in the comments section below. As the forum (hopefully) grows my aim is that we begin to inspire our fellow Steemians to broaden their musical horizons by listening to the music that inspires us. The only thing I ask is that (where possible) every song we listen to is played nice and loudly on headphones or speakers in order that we capture its true essence.

As more Steemians join this venture there is also going to be the possibility of being rewarded for our musical tastes via the amount of upvotes each song receives. That said please never feel awkward about posting a track, a guilty pleasure or even your own musical ventures. I have an extremely wide range of musical interests but also understand that music like beauty is very much in the eye of the beholder. As such I may play my chosen song, but who am I to define what constitutes good music.

Hope everyone is well and has enjoyed a really good weekend!? My choice this week is in honour of the Prodigy's Keith Flint who was found dead this morning. The Prodigy supplied some banging tracks to the soundtrack of my youth, and his contribution to the rave culture should not be underestimated! One of those rare acts that managed to bridge the gap between the club and illegal rave scene, and one of those men that held the respect of whoever knew him. R.I.P Keith Flint .. basslines on the winds of change, gone but never forgotten. I was at the gig below, and so it seems apt to share it for this weeks edition of #musicmonday. Thank you for the music dude!

Minnow5.gif

Written by perceptualflaws
Song: Poison
Artist: The Prodigy
Gifs courtesy of @justcallmemyth

Many thanks for taking the time and consideration to read this post. Any upvotes, follows and resteems are greatly appreciated. Follow @perceptualflaws

Minnow3.gif

Sort:  

I thought that was one of those click bait things on Facebook but it is true! Also Luke Perry with a stroke? Wonder who the third one is going to be.

As for the music, someone whipped this out at our last LANfest. I was thinking how this would sound right at home if it was released in the 80s right after Turbo and been right at home.

Can you imagine rocking that hard when you are 70?!?

My Monday staple!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey my friend, yes sadly it is true on both counts :( Great choice of music this week @zekepickleman .. and yeah, he certainly doesn't remind me of my grandad at 70 lol It's incredible really .. huge respect for them/him being out there and still recording to this kind of level, I genuinely think that musicians of this ilk live for the music .. literally! Sure he's lived the rock n roll lifestyle in his youth ... although he must have really looked after himself to be doing this at 70! How many original members are with him still? Thank you or the music my friend, really enjoyed this one.

Oh fuck! He died? So young. That's sad!!! Music for the Jilted Generation was the one of the soundtracks for early 20s. I had it on cassette when I drove around Australia. Saw them somewhere, can't even remember now. Must have been wild seeing them at Glastonbury. I got sick of them quicker though... got more into the Chemical Brothers instead. I was just reading Beth Orton and Chemical Brothers did a Tim Buckley song? Haven't heard it but off to listen now. Meanwhile... xx

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey my friend, yes suicide so I'm told .. where do you go when the party stops? That said, they were still very much in demand on the gig and festivals circuit, very sad. I think they were first a foremost a live act, a spectacle of dance .. only so often you could hear them on the stereo. :) Great call on the Chemical Brothers, whenever I think of them I'm also drawn towards Underworld and Leftfield .. all great acts of the same sort of era, I caught Leftfield a couple of years back and they were still awesome! I hadn't heard of the Chemical Brothers working with Beth Orton on a Tim Buckley song .. but yeah that could work! Look forward to hearing it. Love your choice this week .. loads of memories woven into it, amazing how music is the key to unlocking all those forgotten moments. :) Thank you for the music and the memories @riverflows .. this was a listening pleasure.

Oh yes Underworld and left field work well with Chemical Brothers. I agree with those memories full stop this song in particular was the comedown track especially with the line ' Sunday morning I'm waking up can't even focus on a coffee cup' and the Beautiful existentialism of 'where do I start where do I begin' ... such a nice memory trip.

Goes to show doesn't it that even the ones that you can have it all can be as messed up as the best of us. We are all suffering something. I just can't imagine the kind of pain people must be in to take their own life and feel desperately sad for those who do and with that someone could have helped them in some way xx

Posted using Partiko Android

That track reminded me of Enya for some reason lol cool mellow song.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh go on then :-)

Hey dude, great track! Not heard of these guys before .. but I like what I'm hearing, nice sounds! Difficult to pigeonhole or work out here it's going next .. and all the better for it :) Excellent choice this week mate .. thank you for the music, these guys are great musicians and I'll enjoy looking into their back catalogue. :)

You noticed how this place, this site is going so downhill yet? I guess you did from that last post you did, I am seriously thinking to check out of here, it is turning into facebook, but with only 30 people.

Yeah, it's been down at heel recently .. but you know all it takes is that one killer Dapp and then "this time next year we'll be millionaires" lol .. where have I heard that before?! :D But yeah, there is a lot of crap being thrown around, but there are also some great people on here and that is what brings me back .. I guess we shall see how it all plays out.

Hanging in by my fingertips, not sure the place is worth fighting for, not sure it ever will be, very grateful for the support, via you and v4, the rest though? Oh boy.

The sad surprise of my day was to hear the news about Keith. In my world, cool is defined by his image. Furthering your tribute, here is Out Of Space featuring Keith's I don't give a crap dancing! It would suck to be his friend like Liam and Maxim right now.

Hey my friend .. yeah it was sad news, you never know what struggles people are going through :( One of my best mates was a DJ who was playing alongside/hanging out with him during this era so I know he'll be pretty gutted .. whether after the shock the band continues? I don't know .. I don't think they could capture it without him. Great choice this week @sequentialvibe .. so many memories woven into this track, it kind of marks the beginning of my rave adventure .. which I wrote about here and hence also marks the end of an era. Thanks for the music and the memories @sequentialvibe

I heard about Keith Flint this morning. Such a pity.

This one's from 1978. I bet nobody other than shepz1 will remember it.

Hey my friend .. yes a real waste :( I have a pretty good knowledge of music but you're right I have never heard of this track or this band! Nice punky/new wave sort of sound .. it's about the murderer/death row inmate Gary Gilmore? Thank you for the music my friend, enjoying the energy on this one.

Yes, that's the one. I remember how shocking it was at the time. How things have changed. I can't think of anything that would shock people now. Oh to have a time machine.

I was really sadden to hear of his passing, they were such a huge part of my youth, thank you for sharing the video and how lucky you were to see them at the height of their success, Funky Shit has got to be one of my favourites too.
here's my offering for today,

Hey my friend, they were also a huge part of my youth so I can relate .. I saw them right at the beginning of my rave fuelled journey of anarchy, and about 10-15 times since then, hence it kind of feels like an end of an era for me .. suicide as well, despite outward appearances you never know the weight that people carry upon their shoulders. :( I really love your choice this week .. a beautiful ethereal sound and haunting melodies, I love the story, history and experience that speaks through the medium of folk. Music that speaks to the soul .. thank you for sharing my friend, I really enjoyed this one. :)

this Monday is blue indeed and i dont want to lighten it up. So here is my anguish, rock music for today. Cheap-trick. I am losing you

Hey my friend, hope you've been well. Not heard a huge amount of Cheap-trick before .. but man this is a masterclass of guitar work .. a perfect addition to this blue Monday. The anguish and angst perfectly encapsulated by this track and it's weeping guitar work. Thank you for the music @hercdoukakis .. I really enjoyed this one and it's inspired me to check out some of their back catalogue.

This reminded me of a classic I’m sure you were into at one point! Cool track, I nearly forgot about prodigy!

I’ve been behind on the times lately, I didn’t know he died that sucks!

Chemical Brothers - Block Rockin Beats
https://youtu.be/iTxOKsyZ0Lw

Hey my friend .. yes he died within the last couple of days mate .. suicide, such a waste. :( Another great choice this week! Love it and I have some amazing memories of watching these guys and listening to their music .. these mighty dance acts pretty much defined a generation and I wonder if anyone will be able to fill those boots! Thank you or the music and the memories @cmplxty .. this was a pleasure to listen to!

Hey @perceptualflaws, I'm back after a bit of a hiatus haha 😃
Went to a festival the other weekend and this NZ band played. Not sure if they are really good or the rock candy was just hitting me that hard. I'll let you decide 😂

Hey my friend .. welcome back! Hope you've been keeping well? Haha yeah I can see/hear the appeal .. heavy basslines and psychedelic colorations .. perfect festival vibes for those carefree, crazy hazy days of summer sunshine and popping candy afternoons lol Thank you for the music my friend .. although it's still winter here so you have me pining fr the sunshine vibes :)

How about

Ha great choice @kimberlyjane .. they reformed last year (or maybe the year before) and my mates managed to catch them, I'm reliably informed they've still got it! lol And yeah "too drunk to fuck" wise words that I wish I'd heeded on more occasions! lol But seriously, excellent choice and thank you for the music .. I really enjoyed this one, great energy!!

Oh, wow! I didn't know they'd gotten together again :) Glad I posted, and that your mates say they've still got it, I'll go and check 'em out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05