MUSIC MONDAY: The Partisan (Dub Version) 🎵 DROP YOUR OWN TUNES FOR UPVOTES! 🎵

in #musicmonday5 years ago (edited)

2YRZBi4FZVHeQQfitmdxR1GrfxuEn3A38BnR8aRUXXPvj8Ey6rQZgNzDQzmpc8vqpiE6WNzgyMHBsVJYe11iiF22A31LJeRodWv.png

Just one song today... so tired I can't cope with much more!

I never really listened to much Leonard Cohen but when he died they had a two hour special with his music on our Melbourne independent radio station and I realised I knew more of his songs than I thought - and that he was as good as they said he was.

One of my favourites of his is a song called The Partisan about the French Resistance. It was originally written in 1943 and Cohen's cover is beautifully haunting.

I always loved novels about the Resistance especially Simone De Beauvoirs 'The Blood Of Others'.

Anyway, it's not Cohen's version I am sharing but this dubby version which we found on a mix the other day. It's just beautiful and I could listen to it all day. I hope you love it as much as I do.

Leonard Cohen

When they poured across the border
I was cautioned to surrender
This I could not do
I took my gun and vanished.

I have changed my name so often
I've lost my wife and children
But I have many friends
And some of them are with me

An old woman gave us shelter
Kept us hidden in the garret
Then the soldiers came
She died without a whisper

There were three of us this morning
I'm the only one this evening
But I must go on
The frontiers are my prison

Oh, the wind, the wind is blowing
Through the graves the wind is blowing
Freedom soon will come
Then we'll come from the shadows

Les Allemands étaient chez moi
Ils me dirent, "résigne toi"
Mais je n'ai pas peur
J'ai repris mon âme

J'ai changé cent fois de nom
J'ai perdu femme et enfants
Mais j'ai tant d'amis
J'ai la France entière

Un vieil homme dans un grenier
Pour la nuit nous a caché
Les Allemands l'ont pris
Il est mort sans surprise

Oh, the wind, the wind is blowing
Through the graves the wind is blowing
Freedom soon will come
Then we'll come from the shadows


I love music so much that Music Monday is one of my favourite days of the week. I encourage you to write your own Music Monday post, and let me know if you have! I also love the tunes you drop, so I'm encouraging you to drop them for an upvote. Please do be polite though - it's also nice to get a comment on the song I dropped, even if you hated it!



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif


@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Greetings!
Here´s "Dub be good to me", the song probably best known for brazenly stealing the base line of "Guns of Brixton", one of the songs I chose for my Music Monday post this week.

Oh yeah I LOVE this song!!!! Thank you!!!!! Xxx xxx Morning tune... xxxx It's one of my faves.

Hey my friend, hope you've been well .. really beautiful track this week, loving the Dub fusion! You've inspired me to go for another beautiful song, one that captivates me and demands my full attention everytime I hear it .. I hope you enjoy.

Oh YES... I love it. I saw him play this in Melbourne at an open air stadium kinda thing. And all.of Melbourne was singing along and I was crying.. honestly, it was like church. It's an extraordinary song and does something to my heart. It really really is.... 💚💚💚💚💚

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow that sounds amazing, wish I was there :) .. loving the church analogy, it really is music that speaks to the soul .. glad you enjoyed.

Did I tell you I am coming over in April? My father in law is ill...

However looking forward to walks in British woods again....!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

No you didn't .. sorry it's not under better circumstances :( If you find yourself in the deep southwest .. give me a shout for some wood suggestions, you could also be lucky and time it with the bluebells :)

Can't wait for that side of it! We know a few blue bell woods. Jamie might not come as he'll be with family. But I'll need to go someone for a few days. Maybe Devon .. keen to go somewhere I haven't spent a lot of time.. but likely Dorset as I have mates there. I'd also like to go to the Gower..

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful selection, thank you! I really enjoyed listening to that version. Love Leonard Cohen!

It's lovely isn't it?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 98.82% upvote from us for your 9868 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76