My 1996 Favorite Song - 7 Day Way Back Music Challenge

I am not really big into music right now as my kids usually fill the car with enough noise...why add more? I couldn't tell you any song topping the charts at the moment. However, when I was in high school and college I enjoyed listening to the radio and CDs. We had one of those cool intercom systems at home that played songs from the radio and my parents used to love turning that on while we were cleaning up or working in the yard on the weekends. (By the way, how is 1996 considered "way back"????)

10401045_38172763114_9646_n.jpg
My 1996ish self...and my little friend - before Panama and Mama

I sat down today and wrote down 7 songs for the next seven days of this challenge. They are a pretty interesting mix, thanks to attending high school and college in the late 1990's. Things to note: I attended a Christian college, I was really into my church youth group and a strong Christian, I loved Spanish, I think I liked at least one boy almost all of the time...

Oh man...since I listened to this, I haven't gotten it out of my head! Been singing it all afternoon. One memory I have of this is singing on the phone (that was attached to the wall with a cord) in 1996 when I was a freshman in college. I was talking to a boy I liked and kept singing "Oh Oh" in the appropriate parts. He thought it was funny. We didn't go out but once or twice...can't remember if it was before or after the song on the phone incident.

I also remembering singing this at the top of my lungs and jumping around with friends in our youth group building (which was a mobile home at the time). I'm surprised the floor didn't give way. Gotta love DC talk. One of my favorite parts is the intro. And this song uses the word "tat" which I have since been told is no longer cool by a friend with some tats. I even asked @tattoodjay once what he thought of the word. Ha!

Hope you enjoyed it. Did you ever listen to this song or was this your first time?


The rules:

Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you were writing and submit it.
Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
Mention one person who should do this on each day.
Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post

I was nominated for the 7 day way back music challenge by @bozz. Because I like to know more about her, I nominate @crosheille.

1panama ben fb.jpg

Sort:  

Great choice of songs. I was thinking about throwing some Jars of Clay in my list. I was also very involved in my church youth group and spent a lot of time hanging around Spring Arbor college in MI. Jesus Freak was such a change for them from Nu Thang and Free at Last. Newsboys Lost the Plot might make it to my list as well. Who knows....

Jars of Clay and a few others made my list as well. Yeah, my older brother was a big DCT fan and I liked all of their stuff. This was definitely a different song. I can still remember all the words. ;) I even remember I gave a speech in high school and used the song "I Don't Want It" and talked about True Love Waits. Man, I had to go through some of their songs and figure out which one it was. Funny how I know all the words to most of them. ;)

LOL well I do have a few tattoos and I have no problem with the word tat to be honest :)

tip!

:) Thanks for the tip! Ha - I think I was asking you about it in Discord or maybe you had a post about a tattoo. Lol - I can't even remember exactly! Thanks for voting on tat or tattoo. ;)

I do remember it slightly lOL :)

I almost missed this!! I love the 90’s picture of you...you’re soooo cute and look soooo sweet!!!!! ☺️😍

I have heard the term Jesus freak but have never heard this song before. I can just imagine you all singing this at the top of your lungs as youth. Thanks for sharing and for the nomination ;)

Lol - it is a great song...even if it is quite a few years old. It doesn't feel like it!!!

Ha! I remember that one.

I never really listened to mainstream music. I had a cassette tapes with Julio Iglesias and Sons of the Pioneers records... lol

Oh wow. Julio! Good fun!! Ha!

Hi @apanamamama! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Chck out this new post from @tattoodjay: Click. Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

@tipU is looking for SP delegators - pays out 100% of profit to all investors. Write a comment: @tipu I want to delegate X sp - where X is the amount of SP and @tipU will answer you with a delegation link :)

Oh my god you are good girl and love song

I am poets, writer and like photography from madura

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00