7-Day Wayback Music Challenge: Day 1 -Perfect Gentleman - Wyclef Jean

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians across the Steemiverse, I wasn't nominated for this one but I take it upon myself to do that, when I first saw this #musicwaybackchallenge by @dimitrisp, I was a little bit interested being that I have so many old school college days song on my phone and I still listen to some of them.

My first song on the list is one of my favorite by Wyclef Jean - perfect gentlemen.

While we were teenagers we mostly listen to song because of the artist popularity, beats, rhythm, percussion but as time goes on I began to craze for the lyrics in songs and I found out that some songs have so many messages to pass across but the beats wouldn't just lead us into it.

Perfect Gentleman was the third single released from Wyclef Jean second album in 2001, the lyrics in the song talks about a lady seen dancing at the party but no she wasn't a hoe but a student hustling, she later became a rich lady and produced her bussiness card to wyclef in a subway.

An argument once came about at how our girls are prostituting themselves all for money on facebook and as fate would have it a fellow prescribe this song to them, immediately I was taken back to revisit the song.

Enjoy the excerpt of the lyrics:

Just 'cause she dances go-go
It don't make her a ho, no
Maxine, put your dance shoes on
We going to the disco
We gonna elope to Mexico
Called up my mama, said I'm in love with a stripper, yo

He (wyclef) goes on to talk about her, but the ending change the story

Ten grand, let me see you shake it like you got no
Bones in your body and you was made to be a celebrity
Twenty grand, know it's a sin, but before me you show
Me a little more skin it would fulfill my fantasy
Thirty grand, to the highest bidder but Chris Rock
Said, 'There's no sex in the champaigne room'
Forty grand, looked into her eyes, I saw tears falling
Down, type of tears that money couldn't buy

The type of tears that money couldn't buy pls take note of that word it says a lot, the lady went on to speak for herself, hope by name.

Uh, my name is Hope, yo
I was blessed with the body of the Goddesses
Have you any idea how hard this is?
I could flex in 25 positions
But I only work here to pay my tuition
Yo, tantalizing teaser
Table-top pleaser
Give me what I need a
Mastercard a Visa
Lapdance fantasy
Picture us on an all-white canopy
Wyclef extended his hand to me
Like Billy D. said he's feelin' me
Take me away from here, so far
Where they ride horses, no cars
No more stripping in bars
Me and you 'Clef, against the odds

I hope you can catch one or two things from the words said, it's plainly written. After sometimes and time have passed this same lady and wyclef later met as the story goes.

Shot callers, Wasn't you a preacher?
You calling her a hooker? He without sin cast the first stone
I met her on the subway, she gave me that VIP card
And told me if I ever have problems
Don't hesitate to come by, yeah, yeah, yeah

That's a great ending you know, the stripper has paid her tuition and she's living larger.

Moral Of The Story

  1. Never you look down on someone
  2. Whatsoever you are doing always be focused
  3. Appreciate those whom you've met on your way up.

DQmTpNgXk32yw3ijiVXbGSvKoeMFwAuw5Rwh8CBf74Xp7jE.jpeg

You want to join this challenge? Simple.

1: One song from your highschool/college years!

2: Tell us why. Share a few thoughts about the songs you choose. Let us know!

3: Write your story while banging the song you chose. Just submit whatever occurs!

4: You have to do this for 7 successive days if you get nominated and accept!

5: Nominate at least one person each day!

6: Use the tag #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules in your post!

Sort:  

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Congratulations @botefarm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81