7-day wayback music challenge: Day 3 The Darkness - Friday Night

I was nominated for this challenge by fellow Steemian @verhp11- thanks! Anything music related and I am interested!

This song 'Friday Night' is taken from the debut album from The Darkness, released (way back!) in 2003. What I loved about this song (and album!) is the way The Darkness have a mix of humor, lightheartedness and pure rocknroll. I can remember this song being a regular on our Friday night playlist and knowing all the words - singing along at the top of my voice.

Although bands are often know for their singles - in this case 'I believe in a thing called love', often it is the less popular and 'hidden gems' that are most satisfying. Enjoy:

The rules:

Choose one song from your high-school/college years.

  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
    I nominate @schrosct for this challenge!
Sort:  

The Darkness were "the next big thing" when they published their first album. They had all what british rock fans wanted, the Queen and Freddy Mercury influences, some sense of humor, and bubblegum melodies. They did one of the biggest "explosions" that I can remember since Nirvana's "Smells Like Teen Spirit", but the band couldn't stay on the top of the wave. In my opinion they weren't good enough to be the new "Queen". And problems between the members of the band did the rest. Nowadays they are in the place they have to be: respected as rockers, but not in the first league, because if you want to stay side to side with The Rolling Stones you must be really great.

I love the glam touch of "Friday Night".

Yeah I remember that eh - the album was so brilliant for me and they just got worse and worse lol. Although I listened to one of their newer albums and liked it!

I think some of their problems came down to drugs aswell (in true rock n roll fashion!)

Its a shame really because they haven't really lived up to their potential and hype....

Yeah bro its a very groovy tune. If your into the more glam and humorous side then listen to Steel Panther if you haven't the are amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62