7 Day Wayback Music Challenge - Today

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

First, I would like to thank @xabi who went through all the trouble of nominating me. And of course, I will oblige since I'm rarely nominated for any challenges by anyone. Anyway, this challenge is getting quite popular here on Steemit as everyone love's music. Most people like to be asked about their favorite songs.

Without music, life would be a mistake.
― Friedrich Nietzsche

I can live without TV or any other forms of entertainment. Music is my only medicine. I can say that it runs in the family. For sure, I would be mocked by any of the family members in case of bad music taste.

Honestly, I had a difficult life growing up and I could not seem to remember anything but pain. I was emotionally and physically abused that I have to turn to something else to release all that stress. Rock music seems to do that as I can pretty much relate to all the angry and depressing lyrics.

I have this nostalgic song from the 90s, the best decade in my humble opinion. I think I started listening to this song when I was in college and it still makes me feel sad to this day.

Today by Smashing Pumpkins

Today is the greatest
Day I've ever known
Can't live for tomorrow
Tomorrow's much too long
I'll burn my eyes out
Before I get out

I wanted more
Than life could ever grant me
Bored by the chore
Of saving face

Today is the greatest
Day I've ever known
Can't wait for tomorrow
I might not have that long
I'll tear my heart out
Before I get out

Pink ribbon scars
That never forget
I tried so hard
To cleanse these regrets
My angel wings
Were bruised and restrained
My belly stings

Today is
Today is
Today is
The greatest day

I want to turn you on
I want to turn you on
I want to turn you on
I want to turn you

Today is the greatest
Today is the greatest day
Today is the greatest day
That I have ever really known

Back in the day, life was not bearable at all. I didn't really know if I could even make it 'till tomorrow. It took a lot of guts to face another day. There was lack of food, money, love, shelter, and affection. Nothing really. I really had nothing to live for. I got nothing but willpower. I was scared to be with anyone because I always thought that they will also hurt me. So I spent most of my life in solitary. In time, I learned to love pain and sadness. I have accepted that life is like that. I kept my expectations low.

But I had good friends in college who liked the same music and they helped me make it through this life. We were studying and didn't have a lot of money yet we went to places, concerts, music festivals and had tons of fun. Good times. Those were the good days before society required everyone to start taking life seriously. Back then, I felt free to be rebellious and to do whatever I want. To express my individuality and be myself.

After all the hard work of survival, I finished uni finally and started making a career. Years later, I heard this song again in some place with my ex. We were standing in the middle of the crowd and he started singing "Today is the greatest day I've ever known..." That moment I couldn't seem to forget. That moment felt really good. I feel both happy and sad to remember a day that used to be the greatest.


This is my first day in this #musicwaybackchallenge. I know @tarotbyfergus likes music so I will nominate him. If you want to go through all the trouble of posting one song for 7 days, simply follow the guidelines below:

[1] Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
[2] Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
[3] Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you were writing and submit it.
[4] Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
[5] Mention one person who should do this on each day.
[6] Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
[7] Follow @greek-trail for great content made by our fellow Greeks!

Sort:  

Congratulations on the nomination @diabolika! And I must say: respect! I'm betting that the text after the lyrics is what you wrote during the song? You did great there: I have to think waaayyy longer before anything meaningful comes out :-) Didn't know, but liked the song btw.

Looking forward to your next!

Aww thanks for the comment. I just don't know if I can finish this challenge as I have more important things to write about!

I always liked a lot of those 90's bands too. They remind me of being young.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Amazing song i liked it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79