7-Day Wayback Music Challenge: Day 2 ~ NIN - Twist

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Twist is and has always been one of my favorite NIN songs. Reznor speaks to me, unlike any other musician to this day. He pushes the line of sanity and feeling in a way only he can do. I was introduced to this song by my childhood friend Lisa. I traded her tapes one day at school and I ended up listening to this album so many times I ended up having to make the tape copy 3 times. 


This song was unlike anything I had ever heard and all I know is I wanted more. The lyrics were dark and deep, the music was hypnotizing. What NIN was saying exactly in the song is still under debate and that is part of the real beauty of this song. It was redone later with different lyrics and is known as Ringfinger off of Pretty Hate Machine release the following year. 






Track 8 off of Halo 0-Purest Feeling


Well, you've got me working so hard lately

Working my hands until they bleed

If I was twice the man I could be

I'd still be half of what you need

Still you lead me and I follow

The small of your back up to your chin

Over to the tip of your switchblade ass

You pull it out and you stick it in


It can go a little deeper

I'm wearing these chains

You make it hurt real good

I love the pain


Well you just leave nailed here

Hanging like Jesus on this cross

I'm just dying for your sins

And aiding to the cause


Wrap my soul in bandages

I'm tired of this war

Go ahead and cut me

I can't even feel it anymore


It can go a little deeper

I'm wearing these chains

Make it hurt real good

I love the pain



Thanks @ruth-girl for the nomination

@deadspace tell us some music history.....


Sort:  

I have to find this Twist, I didn't recognize the song by the title but seeing it's a reworked Ringfinger makes sense. Love NIN, own all the Halo's up until Things Falling Apart and my enjoyment of NIN went off after that. If for whatever reason you may not have heard it, find the "Rusty Nails II" album and enjoy it. I enjoy it more than some official releases.

Edit: So I'm just generally geeking out and looking up info on Twist and then started looking at the Rusty Nails II page on this Wiki because I remember it did have early works mixed in and the same album Twist is on also had a track that made it onto Rusty Nails II called "Maybe Just Once"

Edit 2: Twist is on the first "Rusty Nails" which I'm sure now I've listened to this track a million times and just thought it must be Ringfinger demo or whatever and never looked at the track list.

It is Halo 0
So ringfinger is the remake, I never heard of Rusty Nails, thanks for that one. I have Halo 0 to Halo 23 and still have only half of what he's done.

I've never been a fan of NIN, maybe because they're not my time. AAm going to listen to 'Twist' though based on your recommendation and see what I think

Tell us what you think the song is about after you do.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87