Wayback Music Challenge - #1 - Yep, it's another Steemit Challenge

Another Steemit Challenge, this one sounds fun


So one of my #BeerSaturday buddies (@dennisauburn) nominated me for the Wayback Music Challenge.

The rules are pretty simple, it boils down to writing about some music from your teenage/ early adult years. I can get behind this.


Souls of Mischief - 93 'Til Infinity


So when I entered highschool, me and my mates became obsessed with Hip Hop. My best mate (who I've known since we were 4 years old, and am still close friends with while we enter our 40's) introduced me to many songs of this genre. He had a lot more freedom than me, and spent a lot of time in Adelaide's one and only store that sold this type of music.

I can still remember listening to this song for the first time. I sat in wonder at home amazing this song is, and the sense of excitement and wonder that it brought me. I love the sentiment of the song and the pure positivity of it.

At a time when Gangster Rap was all the rage, this song was a breath of fresh air. I played the song on repeat for weeks on end.

And just recently, I showed this song to my wife while we were reminiscing about the music of our youth. Surprisingly, she fell in love with it immediately. And every now and then when I walk into the house I'll hear this song playing. And while my musical tastes have changed dramatically over the years, I still love this song today as much as I did when I was a young teenager. The memories it brings back are a mixed bag, but enjoyable all the same.

The Challenge Rules and Stuff


Thanks to @dennisauburn for nominating me for this challenge. I've been nominated for a few over the past couple of months but have failed miserably at completing them. Let's hope that I can complete this one.

RULES:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? You blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.

Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.

@sandrina.life - show me your musical past!


Sort:  

Nice step-up. I'm surprised I've done this challenge for so long. I guess it's kind of fun/therapeutic.
Thanks dude.

7 days can go very fast. It's a nice chance to reflect a little. Too much reflection can be dangerous though. :)

7 days in a row? Ah dude, this is too much commitment for me.
At the moment, I can't even commit to change underwear every day.
What to do what to do
Hip hop from the 90s is cool and the singer with long hair is even hot.

Get on board! I need someone else to do this with me.

I might choose a depressing as fuck song for today. Just to mix things up. Teenage angst and all that.

Great challenge! My fav song is Eagle Eye Cherry Save tonight

I can nominate you today if you like. Almost forgot to do day 2....

I'll get onto it today

Tried my hand at a beer review

Please clean your minus, I beg you.

Maybe if you put an end to your comment spam you'll have more luck.

I fool gave access to the person who was supposed to promote the account, only yesterday learned how he worked. I apologize for everything.

You gave someone access to your account?? Why the hell would you do that? Change your password and don't ever give anyone access to your account.

It's pretty obvious what happens when you spam this platform. Your reputation score has been ruined. It's going to take a lot of effort to restore your reputation.

Unfortunately yes. Please remove your negative, please.

Done, make sure the spam comments are put to an end.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 25 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 17 SBD worth and should receive 90 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87