Wayback Music Challenge - #2 - Nirvana - Heart Shaped Box

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Delving into that Teenage Angst


So one of my #BeerSaturday buddies (@dennisauburn) nominated me for the Wayback Music Challenge.

The rules are pretty simple, it boils down to writing about some music from your teenage/ early adult years. I can get behind this.


Nirvana - Heart Shaped Box


At around the time that I entered secondary school, my Dad started going through a mental breakdown. This meant that my home-life became pretty stressful and difficult. So the stresses of home caused me to spend a lot of time out with friends which naturally lead me to become quite the rebellious teenager and a stereotypical black sheep. I started getting mixed up in all the crap that someone of this age shouldn't be getting mixed up in.

And of course, in the 90s, the stereotypical rebellious teens listened to Nirvana. And I was no different. Of course I did. Nirvana struck a real cord with me during these years. So I went from a teenager who was constantly listening to hip hop, to one who listened to every Nirvana album I could get my hands on, and on repeat. One of my favourite songs that this legendary band produced was Heart Shaped Box:

Even to this day, I love Nirvana. And when life gets dark, I throw on a few songs and sit and contemplate. Their dark and moody tracks strike a real cord with me and help me process the frustrations and difficulties that life puts in our way from time to time.

Kurt Cobain and Nirvana created the grunge rock scene of the 90s. And sadly, when Kurt Cobain committed suicide in 1994, the grunge rock scene died with him. I often wonder what todays music would be like if he was still alive and making music. I'm sure it would be a hell of a lot better with him still being with us.

Nirvana is still influencing some musicians today, and some still cover their amazing music. My wife and I recently went and saw Ásgeir who is a very talented Icelandic artist. He does one of the best covers of Heart Shaped Box that I have ever heard. And I'll end this post with his cover:


The Challenge Rules and Stuff


Thanks to @dennisauburn for nominating me for this challenge. I've been nominated for a few over the past couple of months but have failed miserably at completing them. Let's hope that I can complete this one.

RULES:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? You blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.

Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.

@melbourneswest - show me your musical past!


Sort:  

Nicely done. The two versions go very well together. And I appreciate hearing more of Nirvana. Thanks.

Sweet post. Jamming with my friends in the garage was the best :) My best friend had a garage set up with drum kit, base and guitars. It was where I met some of my good friends I still have today. Sometimes I pick up the fender and blast nirvana while reflecting on my younger years. ;) Lithium was my favourite.

Lithium is awesome. I still work my way through the discography from time to time. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73