Wayback Music Challenge - #5 - Blind Melon - No Rain

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Blind Melon - weird voice, mostly awesome music


So one of my #BeerSaturday buddies (@dennisauburn) nominated me for the Wayback Music Challenge.

The rules are pretty simple, it boils down to writing about some music from your teenage/ early adult years. I can get behind this.


Blind Melon - No Rain


The 90s brought a huge array of highly unique and fantastic music. There were some absolute shockers of course (anyone remember I'm a Barbie Girl?) but I don't recall another decade since the 70s that had as many amazing artists as the 90s. I could be a little biased though.

Blind Melon weren't the most amazing of artists out there, but No Rain was definitely a song to be remembered. It's absolutely one of my go to songs when I'm feeling in a dark or frustrated mood. And tends to make me feel much happier despite the lyrics.

The song was released in 1992. I was still in high school at this time but feeling quite lost and directionless. Most of the people around me knew what they wanted to do following graduation, whether that was further study or what type of employment they would move into. I had no idea though. All of my ideas had been shut down by people telling me that my goals weren't realistic or suitable which left me feeling completely isolated and disenfranchised.

So I suppose this song made me feel as if I wasn't alone in this feeling. The lead singer had said:

The song is about not being able to get out of bed and find excuses to face the day when you have really, in a way, nothing.
Source

And the lyrics:

All I can say is that my life is pretty plain
You don't like my point of view, you think that I'm insane

Really highlight this meaning well. The lyrics above are pretty much the main part of the song that I identified with. But as I've grown older and learnt to love my life these lyrics don't really seem all that relevant any longer. But that doesn't stop me from loving this song.

Oh and if you're wondering what I'm a Barbie Girl is take a look. Or don't, I recommend you don't. But I'm going to put it here anyway for hilarity reasons.


The Challenge Rules and Stuff


Thanks to @dennisauburn for nominating me for this challenge. I've been nominated for a few over the past couple of months but have failed miserably at completing them. Let's hope that I can complete this one.

RULES:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? You blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.

Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.

@livibee - show me your musical past!


Sort:  

This video of blind melons is blocked in this country - due to copyright. Interesting. I know the band, but not the song...so I looked it up and I do know the song. The video is great, just made me smile when she goes thru the gate. Guitarist does alright as well. Very cool. Thanks.

Yeah the clip is pretty cool. Weird that it was blocked in your country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82