Wayback Music Challenge - #4 - Underworld - Born Slippy

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

It was meant to be a romantic end to a New Years Eve celebration...


So one of my #BeerSaturday buddies (@dennisauburn) nominated me for the Wayback Music Challenge.

The rules are pretty simple, it boils down to writing about some music from your teenage/ early adult years. I can get behind this.


Underworld - Born Slippy


I was talking to my wife about this challenge while driving home tonight. She started listing off songs from the 90s and we eventually arrived at this one. The story that popped into my mind sounded a little... well... dodgy.

Her response to my story was quite funny:

Surely everyone has a similar story to tell about this song though?

Well I doubt that. Mine starts out pretty normal for a young lad out on the town, but ended a little different from most nights out.

It was New Years Eve in 1995. I was out in the city with my mates celebrating with many a cheap drink and attempting to meet some lovely ladies. Naturally, being young and inexperienced we were mostly failing. But, as the night drew on we weirdly became more adept and ended up meeting a lovely group of ladies who invited us back to their place for a party.

So back to their place we went! And the night continued to get better and better. I hit it off with a gorgeous young lady and we proceeded to get to know each other.

Apparently this was a bad idea because one of the young lads in attendance proceeded to attack me with a rake. And split my forehead wide open, rupturing a large vein which proceeded to shoot a jet of blood one foot from my head.

If only it was that funny

So I saw New Years Eve in at hospital, getting stitches in my head. And I never saw that young lady ever again.

As it turns out, the young lad with the rake had broken out of Juvenile Detention to see his mother for New Years Eve. His mother had then celebrated his ingenuity by purchasing him all the beer he wanted. Knowing full well that he became aggressive when he drank alcohol.

So now all this song reminds me of is the night that I got cock blocked by a drunken kid with a rake.


The Challenge Rules and Stuff


Thanks to @dennisauburn for nominating me for this challenge. I've been nominated for a few over the past couple of months but have failed miserably at completing them. Let's hope that I can complete this one.

RULES:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? You blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.

Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.

@datascience - show me your musical past!


Sort:  

you can let your wife know that you know at least one person who does not have a story anywhere close to what happened to you with regards to this song. I've never heard this song before. But then, I haven't seen Trainspotting either.

Which apparently puts me on the other end of the spectrum, and thus in rare company.

That must have been quite a sight to see blood shooting out of your head.

It never fails to amaze me the circumstance revolving around things like this. Everything seemingly happening by chance, and yet, with some purpose. Who knows how things would have continued if the juvenile delinquent hadn't 'intervened.' :) It could have gone quite well, or it could have turned badly—now you'll never know other than you ended up with stitches in your head.

You're not there, she's not there, he's not there—you don't have one of the more unique stories about a song to tell. :) Worth missing out on? As long as you live and it stays in the past where it belongs, probably. :)

I know where things would have gone if that young lad hadn't arrived on scene with his rake. :P

Although yes, our futures could be very different if things hadn't played out the way they did.

You should watch Trainspotting. It's a very disturbing movie. But worth watching all the same.

Okay. I'm not sure if that's the best sell for a movie. I'm actually trying to cut down on disturbing. :)

Well, potentially, yes, all of your lives could have played out very differently. It would be interesting to see how, too, but that's not possible. What would also be interesting is to see how the guy with the rake and the girl have been getting on with their own lives.

I ran into rake guy by chance a few years later at another party actually. He hadn't changed a bit. He's probably in jail these days judging by his performance at that party.

I know Born Slippy really well but have no amazing stories like this.
BTW: I just looked at that all-star soundtrack lineup and are thinking I need to get a copy. :-P

All star soundtrack? I don't even know what that is.

I wouldn't call the story amazing. More a story of the most shocking cock blocking event that I've ever encountered. I would be happy if this story never took place to be honest. I still have the scar on my head...

Trainspotting is still on my list of movies to see. All the great stories: we'd been drinking; we met these girls; we had a great idea! Any combination works. :-)) Nice choice.

lol.. I just realised that I completely forgot to mention that Born Slippy was playing at the time that the rake met my face.... that was kind of the whole point of this post.

I don't know why, but I just assumed that was the case. Good story then.

I don't know why, but
I just assumed that was the
Case. Good story then.

                 - dennisauburn


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

@haikubot. I'll be flagging everything you do. I suggest you turn off your bot if you want to use the account for some other purpose.

I've got to say, that is a pretty bad haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63517.53
ETH 3062.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81