7-day wayback music challenge: Day 7 – Special Edition – A Tale of Music and Retribution

in #musicwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

@steevc nominated me for this challenge, and I do accept as I’m a mad music freak and he knows it.

As this is my final day, I’m going to break one of the rules and make a story out of my last wayback challenge.

There is no band named ‘Special Edition’, nor is there a song named ‘A Tale of Music and Retribution’. I can’t write this before the song ends, there’s simply too much to tell.

I grew up in living next to a pub. It wasn’t that bad but my parents quickly learned that they had made a mistake. Noise is the main problem, as well as frequent vomit.

Drunk people tend to stagger out and throw up in the nearest convenient place, this can be on your doorstep. I’m sure it happened more than once. Then there is the singing and shouting in the streets, which can be right outside your bedroom. I was a kid at the time and completely oblivious to these things.

Sml_Boars_2.jpg

Source: Picture was taken by myself

The Boars Head was built in 1674 and the house with the white door at the right edge of the screen is where I lived, and was originally an extension of the pub.

Two songs firmly remain in my mind from the year 1978 and are connected to this story, ‘Love is like Oxygen – The Sweet’ and ‘Nice n’Sleazy – The Stranglers’. There will always be a connection in my mind between the two songs.

The pub had a jukebox playing almost constantly and I kept hearing this bass line beating through the walls. It was very distinctive and I found myself listening to this song and not knowing what it was.

For a music freak like myself this was rather annoying, so one day when said song started reverberating through the walls, I raced downstairs and jammed my ear to the wall. I could then hear it, but still didn’t know what it was. There was no Shazam in those days.

This song I was to learn was, ‘Love is like Oxygen – The Sweet’. Listen to that bassline! You can detect it through walls.


Love is like Oxygen- The Sweet

If you look at the picture of ‘The Boars Head’, the centre right window was next to my bedroom and the proprietors owned a Jack Russell dog named ‘Butch’. This dog I swear when not eating, drinking or sleeping constantly barked and was locked in this very room, every evening.

I grew to literally hate this dog. As I kid I had loved dogs, I had befriended them, they followed me about, but I was always denied owning one. My parents were at loggerheads with the landlord and landlady of the pub and to say they didn’t see eye to eye was an understatement. The barking continued evening after evening.

My father used to turn his radio toward the wall and crank up the volume until white noise was emitting toward their, ‘dog room’, but I had other ideas in the form of ‘Nice n’Sleazy’.


Nice n’Sleazy - The Stranglers

I owned a mono record player in 1978. I can’t find anything that looks like it but suffice to say it played records at 16/33/45/78 RPM’s. Can you get anything like this now?

This Stranglers song was the most noxious one I owned at the time, so it was, record player toward the wall, volume cranked at maximum and ‘Nice n’Sleazy’ on repeat for several hours. I still love that synthesizer section in the middle. The song oozes obnoxiousness!

I had quite some success with my strategy. The dog never seemed to be barking when I finally removed ‘Nice n’Sleazy’ from the turntable.

We moved away from Church Street and ‘The Boars Head’ in November 1978.

I nominate @katharsisdrill for this challenge!

The rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Sort:  

Exciting also your experience in listening to music, I also really like music with a loud voice.
Like music @slobberchops

i thought i never heard of "Love is like Oxygen" from The Sweet, but then somehow i remembered the melody. Still not sure, because i am way too young, but i feel like my mom or dad heard those guys with some stuff like boney m. Just pulled it on my old school playlist

If its one band I really detested from those times, it was Boney M. As cheesy as you can get, even then.

You definitely love those song, I love traditional music most, and the second place is country. even I don't recognize the singer but as long as the music flowing into my mind, I will love it @slobberchops

Great looking pub. LOVE the Stranglers.

I have never heard the song Nice and Sleazy, but Love is like Oxygen is a great jam! This is a really great challenge because it has been bringing me back to songs and bands that I had maybe forgotten about over the years. Great post! I can't imagine living next to a pub. Boar's Head sounds like a classic name!

I was too young for it to bother me really. The dog was intensely annoying though. Its not good to live next door to a pub. When they moved, my parents got a house exactly between 2 pubs, each being a mile away. Many of them have closed down now, its a dying thing to have a pub in the UK.

Wow, that is crazy that they are dying. Sounds like a smart move by your parents!

Great story but indeed that dog I would ...

If you think its a great story then upvote it!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

I have a hard time finding mentions here on Steemit. Sometimes I go for a Google search with"@katharsisdrill" but I missed this one. I love that pub!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76