Musings: Are Business Cards Going the Way of the Dino?

in #musing6 years ago

I am getting a new batch of business cards due to a re-branding; however, I am wondering how many I actually need this time, judging by the hundreds I have from the last batch that I have never used.

Are business cards going to be extinct at some point, similar to dinosaurs? I feel like I used to give more business cards away when meeting people, but these days I often meet business contacts though email before I meet them in person, therefore they already have my information. I am not in sales where I would try to pass them out like candy, and I used to write my cell number of my business cards in order to give to more general acquaintances, but these days, they just send me a “contact” through their email and phone so I already have it.

7E98F068-8ADA-49D4-8564-CD75BA36D30D.jpeg

I also have started to throw everyone’s business cards in the trash. I already have their “contact card” in my email, phone or on LinkedIn, so what is the point of having a physical business card still, when I probably wouldn’t be able to find it anyway if I was looking for it?

With how fast the business environment is moving these days, titles are always changing when you get promoted or the company decides to restructure staffing and you get new title/responsibilities. These changes happen so frequently that people toss out old business cards all the time, just to get new ones they will toss out a year later. I suppose you could cross out your title/contact info and handwrite it in, but then it looks sloppy.

What is your opinion – are business cards a thing of the past or are they still relevant?

Brian

Sort:  

I bet if you gave them a steem silver coin with your business info on it they would give you call back. :)

I prefer to send a sms to someone, so I am right into his/her smartphone.

really you selecting very best tropic in your post i appreciate your high thought quality knowledge post..just super.. I think the same as you do that those physical cards are somewhat tedious and sometimes tend to get lost among so many papers or simply deteriorate drop some water or just wrinkle or break. The past if these physical letters were fashionable, but right now with so much technology and inventions, because the invitations should be by means of email or text messages to the cell phone. So, better are the invitation cards by electronic means.thanks to sharing for your excellent post showing your blog..very well done.. my dear friend.. @brian.rrr take care yourself and best of luck of your great work..

Timely post @brian.rrr and a similar conversation I’ve recently had with a partner on a new venture. As you noted there are useful digital alternatives to utilize and I too have fresh cards still in boxes. That said, I feel there are situations they make sense and it depends on the industry. Formal meetings, negotiations, to provide more private contact information, more so if you are involved in multiple projections are some good use-cases. Also, there are times when I will make a note on the back for my reference or add a personal note when handing out (such as personal phone, eml, home address), I find it more personal and I find as a good reminder (of who I met and of ventures past).

Well, in my opinion, I think that physical invitation cards went out of style, I think the same as you do that those physical cards are somewhat tedious and sometimes tend to get lost among so many papers or simply deteriorate drop some water or just wrinkle or break. The past if these physical letters were fashionable, but right now with so much technology and inventions, because the invitations should be by means of email or text messages to the cell phone. So, better are the invitation cards by electronic means.

These cards I think we only occupy a space somewhere in our houses today I think it is very little use you can call by phone as you did or you can also look for that information on the Internet maybe an emergency case could help and Of course if they have them in a good place in view and ordered.

Good night @brian.rrr

I think they can be useful but at the same time I do not say that because many times on the internet or somewhere the contact number does not appear then you go and look for it on the visitor card but they may not be useful because it is true they usually get lost easily it happened to me that I kept them and sometimes I did not know where I did it hahaha

I prefer the internet or many times they have web pages it is more practical we spend a lot of time on the computer so it is good to have it on the computer practically you have it on hand when you need it.

I hope everyone is well at home, greetings to Jacob

I think business cards have had their day. It actually seems strange now when I get one. I have everything I need on my phone and those cards get lost or tossed very quick.

I don't know why, but you made me bring this childhood comic to mind.
Thank you for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62