My 2018 - This is my Hobby: Buy low, Sell high

in #my20186 years ago

This post is for the @anomadsoul contest I encourage you all to participate in this contest, this is fun! I'm actually going to read some of the contest posts for fun as well.

I won't add any pictures of my own. because I don't see any way to put my hobby related pictures because I don't have any.

My Hobby is...

Doing business. mostly the "Buy low, Sell high" strategy. I just love business stuff related, whether it's offering a service or making a website. but the thing I love the most is buying things at a low price and selling them at a higher price.

I purchase Facebook pages, Instagram and Twitter accounts with followers for cheap, and selling them for a higher price.

I would've explained more here but I feel like just following @anomadsoul questions so it will be more organized.

wood-3157395_1920.jpg
Source: Pixabay

Why do you feel passionate about your hobby?

That's a tough question. I honestly don't know, I just love doing it, I'm thinking about it even when I'm on a vacation.

How did you picked this hobby? Or better yet, how did this hobby pick you?

The hobby actually picked me. I can't remember any time in my life where I didn't do business. The hobby picked me since I was around 11. A kid who just started playing the game "MapleStory" which was actually the hottest game in that time.
The main thing the game was for is to level up by killing monsters but there was also a marketplace where you can set up a store and sell things, and also buy.

Screenshot.png
Source: Nexon

Actually, at 11 I just played like everyone else, but 1 year later, I started learning about the Marketplace and all the items prices ( and there was a lot of items. ) and then I just started buying stuff for cheap and selling for higher. I started with like what, 200-300k mesos ( mesos = Maplestory's money ) and I climbed and climbed until I had 2,147,483,647, which was the maximum amount you can have on your wallet, I don't even know how I remember the exact number, but I do hehe.

So I just put some money on the storage and on other accounts and kept doing the same. until I reached 10B. Maplestory decided to make the wallet's maximum amount 10B, and then I started going big and had around 200B. I can't say the amount of time it took me because I'm honestly not sure, I don't remember.

I ended up selling almost all my Maplestory money for $. it was around 8-10$ per B. sold it when I was 14-15. something like that. I kept playing and kept doing the same, but I didn't have a lot of time to do so.

So, yes, this is how I found the hobby and the hobby found me.

How long have you been doing it...? Are you learning more and more every day?

I'm doing it since I was around 12 years old. I'm 20 now. I'm always learning new stuff, mainly thanks to mistakes. I had so many mistakes. but once I have a certain mistake, I won't do the same mistake again, and that's why I honestly really love doing mistakes, even if it costs me money. Always remember - Don't be afraid to make mistakes!

Here is a quote I like by Peter McWilliams

To avoid situations in which you might make mistakes may be the biggest mistake of all

What is it that you love about this hobby?

I just have a lot of passion for doing business. The feeling of buying something for cheap that you know you can sell with a revenue of more than 100% is amazing. honestly the best feeling in the world. at least for me.

And then selling it... it's just amazing. it's not all about the money I'm making, it's not even my job, I just do it in my free time.

When do you practice it? Is it part of your daily life or do you have to go out of your routine to be able to do it?

I do it every time I can. If I have some free time while I'm at work, I will start reaching out to people trying to buy some things.
and I'm doing it in my free time after work as well.

Is it something you share with someone else or is this hobby YOUR thing and you do it by yourself?

It's a hobby everyone in my family knows I have. They see it more as a job than a hobby though. every time I make a deal, I tell them about it.

What is going on in your mind when you do it?

When I'm reaching out to him/her it's like - Please, Please don't give a crazy price
After I hear the price, If it's too much It's like - This guy/girl is on drugs. ( Because I never receive a normal offer, it's always below the normal price and then I buy, Or it's crazily above the normal price, prices that make no sense )
After I hear the price, If it's a great price for me it's like - I LOVE YOU. I LOVE THIS. I LOVE EVERYTHING


Source: Giphy

Is your hobby a priority?

No. It's quite important in my book, but it won't make me lose time with my family or friends.
It can happen only if someone I reached out to replies to me with a really good price for me, so I do the deal and then go out. Even if it takes me an hour and I'll be late. but normally, no. it happened like twice.

Is your hobby expensive?

It's all relative because I'm spending a few hundred dollars per deal, and I know for a fact that I can sell it at the same price in a minute. and I also know I can sell it with a huge profit within a few days. So I don't see it as an expensive hobby, because I get my money back, and more.

Are you an amateur? An adept? An expert? What makes the differences between them? Does it depend only on skills or do you also need tools or equipment to become better?

I don't really like to praise myself, but I consider my self as an expert ( at least in the niche that I'm buying and selling ).
It doesn't depend only on skills, and btw, I see the persuasion skill as an innate talent.

And you need a lot of experience in the field to become an expert, you need to understand how to determine the price you can get for the pages and how long will it take you. there are different niches that cost more than others. and a lot more things to consider.

Are you lucky enough that, is your hobby part of your job?

Yes, and I thank god for giving me the opportunity to make money from something I love doing.

If you would have to explain your hobby to an alien, how would you do it?

Wow, that's a really tough thing to do. I will probably ask him what he does as an alien, how's the lifestyle and customize the explanation so he can understand it better, and so the alien will like me :)


Source: Giphy

Something extra I want to share

As a Jewish person, I had Bar Mitzvah when I was 13. and we had a whole event and I even made a special video for the Bar Mitzvah. What was it?
I stood with sunglasses and money and talked business. and said like " how good is it to do business ". something like that, I don't even remember exactly what I said, But I can find the video and watch it so I'll know the exact sentence.

Sort:  

my hobby was to make a lot of money but now look at me i have invested so much in steemit and the prices are just going down and down everyday. i am just hoping that everything falls back into place

So do you do the same thing with crypto as well?

I used to, not anymore :)
I prefer doing it on things I understand lel

Great story! I really like your special talent

@yairdd

Thanks for this post.

I have always defined hobby as that thing we do with a reckless energy that we don't really care why we were so obssessed by them.

I see that definition all over in this post.

MY HOBBY IS TO HAVE MY OWN BUSINESS
AND BRO YOU HAVE AN AMAZING HOBBY

Making money as a hobby it is the cheapest way to please yourself.
That's the way to go;)
Usually, hobby costs a lot, my hobby is video and photo cameras and gadgets. And you know what? Every day come newer model !!!!

Hehe indeed @olegw hobbys cost a lot of money! I have the same with surfing, camera and audio...😅

@yairdd what is your best deal ever?

That's great Oleg! Participate in that contest, will be fun :)

Thank you :) I did it thanks to you :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Congratulations @yairdd, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 1585 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $7664.47. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Greatest hobby, you spent much money to do it, heavy quality hobbies huh?

Damn, MapleStory... thats a long time ago! Did you go for insane AGI? I remember the shops as well, profit while doing homework. The way you describe it as a hobby is interesting me, which leads me to the following question. Do you also like math/calculating stuff? Or should I ask if you have that on full automatic? Do you daytrade? Or was that the ironic story/guessing about your post? XD

I hate math. I just have that on full automatic.
I don't daytrade, I used to, but I don't understand a lot about the crypto world so I prefer not to

Ah, I think you'd be good at it once you understand how it works ^^ Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84