My California - Snow SummitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #mycalifornia5 years ago (edited)

SScover.jpg

For this weeks Show Us Your California contest by @socalsteemit I take you to another beautiful ski resort in the San Bernardino mountains...

Snow Summit!!

SoCal divider.jpg

In my last entry for the contest I showed you Snow Valley. Which is one of three ski areas in the San Bernardino mountains. The other two being the Big Bear Mountain Resorts in Big Bear, Ca. They operate two mountains Snow Summit and Bear Mountain. I'll tell you about Bear Mountain next time and in this post we'll go check out Snow Summit!!


Satellite View
click to view large map

Snow Summit first opened in 1952 and has become one of the most popular ski resorts in Southern California. It's close proximity to Big Bear Lake allows them to use the water from the lake for making snow, giving them the ability to keep the slopes covered with snow even at times when there is not much natural snow! The mountains base elevation is 7,000' and the summit elevation is 8,200'. They operate 11 chairlifts and have lots of different terrain for all skill levels from beginners to experts!

GOPR4296.jpg
Arriving at Snow Summit


Snow Summit trail map
click to view large photo
(then click the large photo to zoom in on the map)

GOPR4341.JPG
Getting on Chair 7 at the bottom of Timber Ridge

GOPR4336.JPG
Selfie on Chair 1

GOPR4312.JPG
The summit. The top of Chair 2 and the First Aid cabin.

GOPR4308.JPG
Looking down from Chair 2

GOPR4330.jpg
Views from Chair 3

GOPR4315.jpg
Selfie on the summit

GOPR4317.JPG
Looking down the Skyline Creek run by Chair 9

Snow Summit is an awesome place and I've had many fun trips there over the years. So far this season has been pretty good and all the slopes are getting a nice base of snow. And with more snow in the forecast I'm hoping to get in some more trips to Snow Summit this winter!!

I hope you have enjoyed this weeks glimpse into My California!

SoCal divider.jpg

ssthanks.jpg

*all photos by @derekrichardson

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 34.222620 lat -116.893578 long Snow Summit d3scr)
Steemit World Map

CMA banner3.jpg

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com
https://www.facebook.com/CAmountainadventures
Contact me on Discord

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

SoCal divider.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif
Animation By @zord189

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Dividerbar.jpg

WorldMap banner.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

canna-curate-banner1a.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

DQmXa3zVXJVYtacu5692MePMJTj35yZX7LKub8WUR4c91Mt.png

Dividerbar.jpg

Gifbanner.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for the tour of this beautiful area, I used to ski when I was younger, but never snowboarded, and now my Knees would not handle either i am sure

Congratulations, your post won 2nd prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!!

Congratulations @derekrichardson! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Looks like you had tons of fun!!!

I definitely did. And more snow is coming!! It's been a good winter so far.

Nice write-up! Going there next weekend!

Heck ya! Next weekend will be sweet. It's supposed to dump snow all week and then clear up for the weekend so you should have a great day with lots of fresh powder! I'll be in NorCal next weekend visiting my cousin, but when I get back I'll definitely be trying to get back up to Summit.

Looks like a fun adventure! Everyone is making me envious with all of these snow posts. Though I shouldn't wish for too much since Atlanta is not very well-equipped to handle it. It just doesn't feel like winter without a little of the white stuff, though. ;)

Where I'm at here in California I'm really lucky. I live in the valley where we never get any snow but I've got awesome mountains with snow and multiple ski resorts only an hour or so away! So I get to enjoy the snow but not have to deal with living in it. I think it's great.

I haven't been in decades, but Snow Summit was our go to spot in high school.

It's still awesome! But I bet it wasn't as expensive back then.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=derekrichardson
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-california-snow-summit


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #410.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

That looks beautiful. I used to snowboard a lot, but I haven't done it for a while. I don't generally have much fear of heights, but I'm terrible at jumping off chair lifts. That one looks quite exposed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19