#MyDuterteStory

in #mydutertestory6 years ago

This is my wife's journey through one of the hardest things a person has to endure. This woman is one the strongest there is in this world. Fighting for your life at such a young age is something we fear for all the ones we love and hold dear. Because she had fought so fierce, she deserves the life she now lives here in the US. Please keep in mind this was written in light of the support for Mayor Duterte's presidential campaign.

#MyDuterteStory Mary Joy
As far back as I can remember, I had one dream in life. To find my one true love and write my own wonderful love story. Today, I still can't believe I'm living my fairy tale dream. I'm happily married to the most loving, kind and amazing man in the universe. If it wasn't for Mayor Duterte and his generous heart, I would not be writing my story for you today. In reality, I would more than likely still be on dialysis or even worse. He was one of God's instruments to getting me through the most difficult moment in my life. My Duterte story started way back in 2004 when I was diagnosed with having End Stage Renal Disease secondary to Rapidly Progressive Glomerulonephritis. My options were limited in order to survive long term. Dialysis and a kidney transplant were the best options of surviving. During my dialysis sessions the mayor's program called Lingap helped significantly. If a patient had Philhealth, they only payed 500 pesos as oppose to 5,000 pesos per session in private hospitals or facilities. At that time I was undergoing 3 sessions of dialysis per week. It drained my family financially along with spiritually, emotionally, and psychologically. This is why I say Lingap helped us tremendously!
My Duterte story does not end there. After six months of dialysis it was determined that I indeed needed a kidney transplant in order to live a normal and healthy life. My family did not have the finances to fund the transplant, so I tried my luck by writing Mayor Duterte a letter. My letter was hand written on yellow paper asking him if he would sponsor my kidney transplant. With God's grace and the mayor's good heart he agreed to sponsor my kidney transplant. March 31, 2004 was the day that changed my life completely. It's been 12 years since the transplant and he is one of God's instruments along with my donor my twin sister Maria Gracia (who risked her life for me), the doctors, my family and friends that made this dream possible. I had a courtesy call following the transplant to thank him personally for his heroic gesture and act of kindness, but wanted to further my gratitude for the opportunity he has given me to lead a normal life. Since then, I have been able to finish college, land jobs such as HR associate, Guidance Counselor and Psychometrician. Currently, I am in the United States living my dream as a married woman to a wonderful man. I may not be in the Philippines nor can I vote, but my heart goes out to all Filipino people who can vote in my honor. I'm not just doing this to repay the mayor for all that he has done for me. I'm doing this to let the Filipino people know that the country of the Philippines under Mayor Duterte's Presidency is exactly the type of leadership the country needs and deserves. This is for the Filipino people and for our country!

This is the hand written letter to former Mayor, current President Duterte. This was written 9 days before her 18th birthday
12718058_1262469390437186_8871655341445519466_n.jpg
The Happy Couple
12805881_1262469397103852_4357085408296441606_n.jpg!
Mary Joy and Mary Grace
()

Sort:  

Wow,you've got a very inspiring story sis! Congratulations to you and to your husband too. I would love to follow you, plz follow me too. Just finished CAR for guidance and counseling. Would love to hear more from you.

Welcome to Steemit kabayan,
This is a welcome video made by @surpassinggoogle.
Please take your time to watch, he will tell you where to start your Steemit journey, to speed up success and make it as difficult as 123.

I enjoyed your story. Thanks for sharing.

Congratulations @dan8653! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63956.04
ETH 3066.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31