My First Car..... Steemit #myfirstcar Challenge

in #myfirstcar6 years ago

A few weeks back I had been called out to do a challenge by a Steemit friend of mine called @alexs1320 it's taken me a little while to actually get to the point of writing this article and well it's finally here!

My First Car


Source Image
A Lamborghini Diablo... no no just kiddin'

My First car started off life as a humble family sedan. A 2001 Nissan Almera.

Probably one of the most boring cars for an 18 year old at the time, it had 4 doors, a large boot and a really slow 1600 engine! It was bought brand new for R109,900 ($8680 USD)


Source Image

Modifications

Now here's when I went a little stupid....

I decided that I wanted to be like the Fast and Furious, or at least try and imitate them somehow by modifying my family sedan.

I started off by installing a crazy stupid sound system, 2 x 12" imported SoundStream Tarantula subwoofers and 2 x starsound 5000w Monoblock amplifiers, a capacitor and Hertz mids and tweeters littered inside the car. I landed up entering a few sound competitions and won a few small IASCA competitions here locally for loudest sedan. I may be wrong but if I remember correctly it was 153db.

Once I had the sound side sorted out I decided to change the seats out for some cheap racers, install a PlayStation 2, a television and interior lighting.

206703_4879166154_584776154_89322_2606_n.jpg

Obviously owning a car with all the bling and no speed was boring so I added some exterior stickers which gave me an additional 5kw. Once that was obtained I ran a straight pipe 63mm exhaust, BMC intake and had a bottle of NOS installed with 50hp foggers.

206483_4879171154_584776154_89323_2843_n.jpg

208011_4879161154_584776154_89321_2371_n.jpg

I'm still to this day trying to figure out what on earth I was thinking! Or rather why I wasn't thinking at all?

Adventures

This was embarrassing but I formed a crew with two highschool friends that had Audiopipe sound systems in their cars. One was a completely standard VW Polo Playa and the other a VW Citi Golf with an exhaust. We had matching stickers on our windshields that read out "Loud Krew" because we could spell. Every Friday afternoon we would go out together in our 3 cars for a lunch but before doing so we would do something we used to call the high school run which involved driving passed 5 nearby high schools with our music blaring gangster rap/hip hop and us caps backward and smoke in mouth. Like I said, embarrassing!

216558_4879176154_584776154_89324_3084_n.jpg

Pros and Cons

Pro was definitely the fuel economy, cons would have been waste of money, slow and embarrassing!

I hope you enjoyed this little piece and would like to challenge @garethb @jasonwhite and @davidke20 to tell us what their #myfirstcar was

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Discord Link

If you have any interest in cars, consider following. I am a Japanese Car Collector and Appreciator, sharing my life through this Steemit Page.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Sort:  

Oh I like your thoughts about imitating those guys in fast and furious not bad ideal at least is good imitate not of bad.. but modified sounds system kinda look too much Subwoofers and 2 x starsound 5000w Monoblock amplifiers be careful of your ear drum lol.

This was 16 years ago, I haven't had sound in a car since then

Who!! 16yrs back that sound good tho.. you kept those pics for long.. 💪

It's almost unbelievable how much the car modification culture has changed over the years. I'm sure I'd have loved to have a stickered up Almera when I was younger, and I'm sure others would too. I find it interesting how almost everyone's taste seems to evolve at the same time. Sure, we were younger back then, but we don't see that many fresh drivers running this style today, so I keep thinking that social media guides everyone in the same direction, which might not always be a bad thing. What's your thoughts about this? What made your taste in cars change?

You are right, social trends did play a part of my choices but ultimately I was looking for speed at an affordable price. This led me onto the road of buying Subaru's, great price per performance and from there I just got hooked on Japanese performance cars such as those that I currently own.

Ahahahaha, that's nothing short of amazing! My first was just as exciting - a 1989 Ford Laser and if I had the money, I probably would have tried to jazz it up too (technically impossible being a beige grandma car).

Got to start somewhere though!

You could have sprayed it in your garage ;) Wasn't the Ford laser of the time the same as the Mazda Midge?

Haven't no idea what a midge was I had to have a quick Google :D The laser was essentially a rebadged Mazda 323 which is also a midge.

So yeah under the bonnet they were the same car basically. 1.4 litres of wheezing carbed lump..

Hmmm, I kind of wrote about mine here already: https://steemit.com/blog/@garethb/my-subaru-stories-exploring-the-origins-of-an-obsession

Mind you, that was the first car I bought myself - my actual first car was a serious POS.

Nooooo, your other first car :)

Haha ok, I'll give it some thought. Don't think I have any images of it though. I hated it that much.

My first car was a 1989 Ford Fiesta Festival 2, it was 1.1 litre, had 4 gears and did 99 mph haha

4 Gears, good lord man...

You had one of the most uninspiring cars to start with, but you managed to the transform it into something unique and you got infected with the petrolhead virus.

Well done Almera, Mission Accomplished :)

Haha, the modification bug definitely bit me hard!

Ah come on it wasn't that bad mate, no need to rag on your first car so much, need to remember your roots, lol.

Well you already got a chance to see my first car and what i did with it.... im pretty sure its how we got talking in the first place innit?

I painted My Fat Ps2 silver as well! that's pretty cool for a Fast and the furious ricer! lol I'm surprised you didn't go deaf with that ridiculous sound system!

Hmm. I like Diablos. lol. My first car was a 1988 Honda Civic Wagon. Screenshot_20180509-230016.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85