Siegfried, the Dragonslayer

in #mythology6 years ago

Sigurd.jpg

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Sigurd (Old Norse: Sigurðr) or Siegfried (Middle High German: Sîvrît) is a legendary hero of Germanic mythology, who killed a dragon and was later murdered. It is possible he was inspired by one or more figures from the Frankish Merovingian dynasty, with Sigebert I being the most popular contender.

Older scholarship sometimes connected him with Arminius, victor of the Battle of the Teutoburg Forest. He may also have a purely mythological origin. Sigurd's story is first attested on a series of runestones from Sweden and the British Isles.

The Eddas say that Odin killed Siegfried personally. Odin kills heroes personally because he needs them in Asgard (The Realm of the Gods) when Ragnarök begins (Doomsday).

Today is Siegfried's remembrance day, he is the epitome of courage.

Richard Wagner used the legends about Sigurd/Siegfried in his operas Siegfried and Götterdämmerung. Wagner relied heavily on the Norse tradition in creating his version of Siegfried. His depiction of the hero has influenced many subsequent depictions.

 
V9 Separator (No Logo).png

A man, a legend, a myth
A dragon slayer
The tale lies herewith
And the final betrayer

He bathed in the blood
Of the dragon in his way
Enjoying the red flood
From his glorious slay

A hero in victory, not his time to die
The blood makes his skin as hard as a horn
With a raging fury he punches the sky
His eyes as black as the dark of dawn

With the strength from his cloak
And the Balmung sword and shield
Giving the destroyed dragon a final poke
He walks victorious from the battlefield

No mercy in his heart
There is no defeat
A warrior standing apart
No remorse, no retreat

A princess catches his eye
But to take her hand
Gunther makes him lie
So he can have the queen he planned

After some years of bliss
Awkward questions came
And it came to this
A betrayal and blame

The only vulnerable area on his skin exposed
In a forest expedition one day
The spear went in, not unopposed
As the curses would forever stay

The legend of Siegfried is one of a kind
A glorious myth, never to be left behind.

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

SteemSchool Website: Website

SteemSchool Discord Community: Discord

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

My ultimate goal as a Steem Witness is to improve the quality on many Steem based platforms and to maintain the Steem blockchain.

If you value what I do I would be happy if you would vote for me at the bottom of the Witness voting page. Simply scroll down, enter "valorforfreedom" click on vote and that's it.

You can also vote for me by clicking on the picture below with my account name in it. Afterwards you simply have to log in with Steemconnect and I will receive your vote.


V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Stats.jpg

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Sort:  

Hi Philip @valorforfreedom - I am sorry to go off topic but I am in full blown panic today for many reasons. The latest is that I am just recovering now from computer trouble and have had to reinstall google chrome and start over.

I've been using the steemitmoreinfo extension, but I remember you had a post with something else you thought was better.

Do you still like that other extension and can you link me to your post that tells what it is and how to install it? I remember there were some quirks to it that you explained. I had your post in my bookmarks, but now I have no bookmarks! Since I have no extensions either, I thought I would try this new one now.

It has been a long day. Thank you for your help.

It is called Steemplus by Stoodkev: https://steemit.com/@stoodkev
All the information you need is on his profile.
If you still have problems after installing it then just ask me again.

Thank you so much Philip. I really appreciate your help.

well done! nice post

Excellent post bro...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89