#MyUsername | Why I’m @organduo

in #myusername5 years ago

I'd like to thank my friend @contrabourdon for nominating me to write a post explaining my username on Steem.

I'm glad I'm not using my real name since I wouldn't have any material for this post, haha!

But my real name is Vidas Pinkevicius. I'm an organist from Lithuania who draws Pinky and Spiky comics and I have this website organduo.lt. At first it has been dedicated to my and my wife's @laputis' organ playing activities because we play a lot of organ duets, hence Organ Duo.

But back in 2011 I started teaching organ playing online to organists from 89 countries and instead of creating another site, I just used the same, organduo.lt. Later my wife joined me in teaching organ playing online through podcasts and various courses.

So when I became aware of Steem (or steemit.com as this was the only frontend then) back in January of 2018, I decided to use my organduo brand here as well. I thought I would post my organ playing related articles but I was just about the only organist on the Steem blockchain back then and my stuff wasn't interesting to non-organists.

Then I got Pinky and Spiky bug and started drawing comics. @laputis joined Steem as well with her side of Pinky and Spiky story. The format stuck, people started submitting their entries for our contest. I was stil @organduo but now my activities have expanded.

Later I invested in Steem Power and naturally became interested in all things Steem. But again my username stuck as @organduo.

I don't think there is any point of worrying too much about a username, if you ask me... A username is like your own property on the blockchain. At first it sits empty and lifeless and you have to give it meaning through whatever activities interest you the most.

On Steem it's best to stay authentic and be yourself because everyone else's seat is already taken...

Now there are more organists on the block and my organ playing activities earn more attention, I draw, I write about Steem, JavaScript, investing and I'm sure as time goes on I will have many other interests to write about. That's what I love about Steem the most - here anything goes.

But I'll always be @organduo.

I'd like to nominate @laputis for #MyUsername challenge. I'm sure she will have a nice story to tell you about the origins of her username. I know this story so well but you don't... so stay tuned!

Also let me nominate @drugelis and @tarazkp for this challenge.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. As you know, I came across your website because I’m an organist and I enjoyed reading about your tips and listening to the podcasts. We even did one together back in 2017! !giphy friends

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'n curious how you made together a podcast. I'd like to see it 🤩

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, it's about his 12 recitals in 12 months!

Posted using Partiko Android

I’m still have trouble with Musicoin. Can you put this on SoundCloud?

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is amazing. Thank you for sharing it 🤩

Posted using Partiko Android

Let me know what you think 🙃

Posted using Partiko iOS

This podcast is interesting. Your biography is very rich. You have a lot of different skills. English is not my mother language so I had some little difficulties to understand.

Posted using Partiko Android

🤓 Thank you 🦋

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks! English is not my native language so I sometimes it's hard to understand for me also.

Posted using Partiko Android

My mother tongue isn’t Lithuanian I don’t understand a word 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @organduo. I love challenges

Posted using Partiko Android

Great! Your next challenge might be to playing Trio No. 6...

Posted using Partiko Android

YES! I'm practising it. This piece is big challenge for me

Posted using Partiko Android

I started following you by pinky and spiky ... I like their occurrences ... :) Then I see that you play organ and you do it very well.
Your real name "vidas" has great meaning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81