My Wednesday Walk. 'Bribie Island.'

'Bribie Island.'

This is my entry for the "My Wednesday Walk," challenge initiated by @tattoodjay

It was late in the afternoon when I arrived on Bribie Island for my walk. It had been a brilliant day, accentuated by clear blue skies and gentle breezes. The heat of the sun effectively penetrated the cool autumn air, warming both my soul and my body as I stepped up the pace, soon after arriving.

This was the picturesque scene that greeted me.

Bribie tree.jpg

Bribie Island is a relatively small sand island which shelters the northern part of Moreton Bay in Queensland, Australia. Its native name is Boorabee, which is derived from the mainland word meaning, 'Koala Bear.' Bribie island is 34 kilometres (21 miles) long and is 8 kilometres (5 miles) wide. A stretch of sea called Pumicestone passage separates the Island from the mainland.

After parking the car, I followed this path along the foreshore across a park and to the street which runs adjacent to the walkway. The tide was out but this did not diminish the pleasure I felt at being able to take in the beauty all around me.

Bribie path.jpg

I passed a few shops to my right and headed north. Not too far along I long came to the Bribie Island RSL Citizens & Memorial Club in Bongareee and noticed a few amazing War Time relics displayed on the lawns. This War Tank was in great condition, belying its age.

War tank.jpg

Other wartime memorabilia on display was an aeroplane propeller and a huge anchor from an unknown ship.

War memorbilia -collage.jpg

I spent a few moments trying to imagine what the soldiers felt when going to battle in tanks and ships like these. No amount of rigorous training and physical fitness could prepare them for what they all bravely faced, month after month, whatever war they fought in. And no amount of steel could prevent the destruction of equipment and lives against the relentless bombardment of enemy weapons. Their memories will be cherished and kept alive thanks to the many RSL clubs around the country.

From War to Peace. I looked across the road at a beautiful park and as I got closer, I realized that even this park was dedicated to all those who served in Vietnam in 1962-1973.

Park 2 .jpg

Park sign.jpg

This park was beautifully maintained and the lush green grass compelled me to kick off my shoes and wander in bare feet, connecting myself to the earth and its vital electrons. A variety of flowers splashed vibrant colours between the various shades of green in the hedges, trees and plants around the park.

Best ixora.jpg

The Ixora Pink Malay flowers were the first to grab my attention. The irresistible watermelon clusters were simply gorgeous. I'm sure you will agree.

ixora 1.jpg

A white memorial in the shape of a cross stood in the middle of the park. It commemorated the all those who lost their lives in The Battle of Long Tan in Vietnam on the 18th August, 1966.

Memorial.jpg

It was time to head back to the car so I took another look around the park in admiration and headed north to where it was situated.

Veterans Park.jpg

I could hear the lorikeets settling in for the night searching for their favourite perches in the trees.This lovely park is not far from Buckley's Hole which was declared an environmental park in 1992. Many of the island's 350 species of birds, such as honeyeaters, waterbirds, pelicans, and birds of prey can be found in this area. Flying foxes visit regularly along with small insect eating bats.

Park gazebo.jpg

Night was closing in and I was able to enjoy capturing a few scenes silhouetted against a fast descending dusk. I was hoping to capture some sunset scenes whilst in Bribie so I hurried to the car and drove in the opposite direction to the northern part of the island.

Jetty silhouettes.jpg

I didn't have to wait long before I was well rewarded with some magnificent sunset shots. Framed between these tree silhouettes were The Glasshouse Mountains in the background. These are a group of hills that are very prominent in the Sunshine Coast. The highest one is called Mount Beerwah which rises 556 meters above sea level, but the most significant one is called Mount Tibrogargan which has been climbed by many a climbing enthusiast over the years.

G H Mountains silhouettes E.jpg

I simply cannot resist leaving you with one more shot of this glorious sunset.

Golden glow.jpg

I hope you enjoyed coming with me on my Wednesday Walk along a small section of Bribie Island.

Thanks so much for viewing and have a great day!

Sort:  


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik. Photo credits @lordnigel.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trudeehunter
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-wednesday-walk-bribie-island


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I feel so refreshed after following along with you only our walk via this post thanks so much for joining in

Oh, that's good to hear @tattoodjay Bribie island is one of favourite paces to visit with easy commute and it was a perfect day to be walking there. It was my pleasure to join in and hope to do so again soon.

thanks again and looking forward to seeing more walks from you when you can :)

My pleasure JJ. I really enjoyed my walk and putting this post together.

Great pics of the path you walked, so clear with loads of fresh clean air.

Thank you so much for your visit and kind comments @nickyprescott I'm glad you enjoyed this post.

This was a very enjoyable post, Trudee. What a nice walk you had! I love your photos, and that 2nd last shot - the framed sunset - that one needs to be printed, large. resteemed :)

Thank you my friend for your very encouraging comments and support. I took a few more images framed by the tree silhouettes and like the effect too.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's Travel Digest #206. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest so we can give back more to you.

Hiya @steemitworldmap That is so exciting! You have made my day. Thank you very much indeed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73