Plotting & Planning for a Full Length Novel

in #nanowrimo5 years ago

9375b750-1926-4db9-b0bf-4ffa28aa3b1b.jpeg

0493472b-565b-4ba8-b33b-48d393c8fb75.jpeg

5319e00e-cd16-4de2-89e0-f6870d8e592e.jpeg


I'm so excited! Tomorrow is the first day of NaNoWriMo! I know I've been writing nearly every day for a year and I've definitely written more than 50,000 words a month MOST months, BUT!!!

This time I'm purposefully working on one long novel. One story. One character that I will be following along through a daunting, horrific situation.

I know this is going to put me through the ringer emotionally. It is actually very cathartic in a way, but also exhausting.

This is the first time that I'm actually plotting out a novel. Not an outline by any means, but I'm definitely working to keep the story cohesive and in some sort of order with the basic plot structures.

I made these chart to help me on my journey. I can see them from the couch, where I often write from OR from my desk. I use the post it notes because I know I'm going to change my mind a million times too!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Good luck! I'll be doing #NanoWriMo this year as well, without a laptop for the first week and a half, gotta write by hand until then!

Yours sounds awesome, I hope to read it in the end!

Oh man! Good luck!!! Writing by hand is such a struggle for me. My hands fall asleep and my brain keeps getting distracted by the time my hand catches up. I wish you the best!

Good luck with the challenge! I'm sure you'll manage it easily :)

Good luck! Sounds exciting!! :)

Good luck with this challenge! I know you will make it!!!! Have a great day!

Thank you for the encouragement! I hope I can stick with it :)

A full novel... that's awesome! I'm sure it's gonna be great. I definitely look forward to getting to read some of it!

Can't wait to read it! I'm not strong enough to brave through nanowrimo yet, so all the best! Cheers for you 😘

Well good luck for the 50,000 word novel! I can see you spending much time in the creative cave there :D

Yeah, I hate to leave it and now I have a good excuse! :)

I know the feeling, good to have a little push sometimes to get going with things!

howdy Byn! oh this is going to be so awesome, so you're going to be starting this soon or have you already started?

I already started! I'm about 1/3rd of the way through a full length novel! I am at 31,122 words as of yesterday. :)

howyd Byn! oh well that sounds pretty impressive! I don't know how many words are in a typical novel but that sounds like a bunch, good for you!
I would ask if it's any good but the author might be prejudiced!

I think it's probably pretty good. It leaves me feeling raw and emotional every time I work on it. Novels are usually around 90k words (although that varies a lot depending on the genre) that's MY goal for this one, anyway!

then I know it's a good one! I bet you could write in your sleep!

Oh man, if I could figure out how to do that, I'd be SET!

This sounds like a lot of fun. Good luck on your goal of 50, 000 words or almost 2,000 words a day. Far too daunting a task for me.

Thanks! I am fortunate to be able to focus on writing almost full-time. I actually hit 50k around day 9. Now I'm on 60k and aiming for another 15-20 this week. I really want to get this first draft finished before Thanksgiving!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85