NaNoWriMo – Write a novel in a month / or just WRITE more than you normally do

So hello November, hello Halloween, hello NaNoWriMo.
If you don't know, this is an annual event, happening online, where people from all around the world join in and try to write a 50.000 word novel.

wfyl.jpg

I've joined this about 4 times now, but I've never won. (You win if you reach the goal of 50.000 words in november) I took a different approach this year.
I can write ANYTHING.
But the goal is still 50.000 words and I can not delete anything.
(I've made the rule that if I'm not finished with the word yet, I can delete it. But once I hit the space, it has to stay.) So it will be my normal ramblings in the diary and it will be some short stories I will write for the writing workshop I attend each week. And also, I thought – why not restart the steemit account I have? So that's what I will do.

My vow for here is to write at least one of these choose your own adventure stories, which I really enjoyed as a kid and was always fascinated by the element of „game” in literature. And that you can controll the story with your actions. I remember I did cheat sometimes, it would say „roll with a dice, if it's even go to page 123, if it's odd go to 45, but I would go back if I didn't like what happened. And it was also fun to read the different possible outcomes.

But it will be short and not overly complicated, a „test” run of this.
I make this easy as well, I made the rules very easy this year, yes, I am terrified of writing a novel (I also don't have ideas, I haven't really written that many short stories either, so it makes sense) and the pressure is just too big. My goal here, this year, is to try to write every day and have fun! And reach the goal of course. And really don't delete or edit. (That is suprisingly difficult! The inner censor is very strong and wants to make everything perfect on the first go – which is a silly thought, it will not be good, and it's OK!)

So to sum it up, rules for November:


write 50.000 words

never delete a word I wrote down

(editing post or editing later is OK, but separate those times)

write a CYOA story here to Steemit

have fun


Let me know if you are also taking part and happy NaNoWriMo!

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Are you going to write with us!! Please join the crowd and I put your name on the list. Also, you are more than welcome to join us on discord. We are not super active - but there are times where we will go there and support each other :)

https://discord.gg/JFDu4xj

I'm happy to join, but I don't think I will be a frequent poster (well, I'm working on this game and that will be 15posts in one day and maybe some more ramblings or freewrite here in the meantime, we will see!) I will also check out the discord, thank you!

That is a lot - and you are doing NaNoWriMo on top of it? Respect!!!

Everything counts for me for thin NaNoWriMo, I'm not writing a novel, I just write and don't censor myself, had to go easy to have a chance to finish ;) Also - what I meant that I don't plan a lot of posts, but once a game is done, so maybe 1 or 2 in november, there will be a lot of small posts in one day. You will see what I mean:)

sounds like a good plan - the just writing a lot and see where it goes. Well, make sure to drop your link at the freewrite house if you do publish something having to do with your "write a lot for NaNo" effort :)

How to Join the Madness
How to join the Freewrite House November Madness in three easy steps:

Go to the NaNoWriMo site and sign up. It is free. NaNoWriMo
Open this google doc and fill in your name and a link to your NaNo profile. https://goo.gl/forms/0wTo5p1P2cxjKTWU2. More Info in this post
Join the NaNoWriMo room on our discord. Here is an invite: https://discord.gg/9WecGBg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27