Let's Talk About NaNoWriMo and Writing (Day 7) + Reading Contest

in #nanowrimo5 years ago

Imgur

NaNoWriMo is on! And it's Day 7 and I'm already behind -- as always. I'm finding writing to be a bit different this year -- I'm really looking at this book as something that I would like to edit and then publish so I want to get as much correct in my first draft as I can. I'm marking spots where I need to do more research with (TK) and I'll have to go back and do that research when it's over.

I'm not really a fast writer. I like to think about what I'm doing, what I'm saying, feeling, etc. I take breaks because I have to for my brain not to just decide it doesn't want to write anymore.

So I kinda have to trick my brain into thinking it's not really writing but it's editing because editing, I can do. And if it's interesting, it's that much better.

My trick is to write the bare bones of a sketch and then go back and fill in the details. That's when I start noticing things like the Native American ashtray on the table (well, it's supposed to be Native American anyway). I have to write the dialogue of a conversation before the characters usually let me know what they're doing or even wearing.

So that's how I write fiction. And then I'll stop and play around with something else for a while and go back to the story later, sometimes not until the next day.

How do YOU write fiction?

P.S. I know a lot of you wanted to read my NaNo novel while I was writing it, but that's not going to happen. I'm not going to publish it on the Steem blockchain -- I'd rather save it and be able to either market it around to traditional publishers or publish it myself.

HOWEVER...

I would be happy to allow ONE individual to read it as I continue.

For this small contest, I'd like you to upvote this post if you're interested as well as leave a comment. This coming Friday, I will choose who I'll be willing to let read my story as it goes on.

I'd love to say send me some STEEM, like 1 STEEM, but I'll leave that open. I'm willing to be bought off. LOL ;)

--

Imgur

--

Imgur Imgur

--

Didn't get a chance to donate to Extra-Life to help sick kids on November 3rd?
You're in luck! We keep gathering donations through December!

Please donate -- you could help save a life!

Imgur

--

Imgur

Sort:  

your story has that spooky tone that makes me feel slighlty masochistic (just slightly) because of the wodnerfully done scaryness... these types of narrations always hold something that fascinates, and as such, I would be honored to read the whole project... sadly, I have very little Steem, so I can't give any... but no matter what, I'm sure this will be a succes wherever it is published.

So interesting how we all create so differently.

#NovMadFan Bruni stopping by to read your update. I'm sure your work is coming along nicely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71