Lack of diplomacy & NanoWrimosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nanowrimo5 years ago (edited)

CCFD3B04-D23D-4790-92A6-FAD2D5EB7559.jpeg

I love my city, Melbourne. I was walking to grab a coffee with my manager yesterday and found an alleyway filled with street art. I recognised this immediately as a Mike Makatron piece from the style.

I probably should have posted yesterday to celebrate the start of NanoWrimo. I wrote about a thousand words even though I was exhausted from work. I’m happy-ish with my direction, but I just didn’t have the head space to focus as I wanted. Today will be a big survival day at work. I have to demonstrate a system I implemented that was a difficult project. I then have to go to a team lunch and be social, of which I don’t feel very social atm. Finally, I need to write up a work order for a new bit of work. I can’t wait until this Friday ends.

As far as the lack of diplomacy, I’m still a little horrified with myself this week. I previously had some difficulties working with a Project Manager because she micromanaged. I resented the overhead of endless meetings and reports. It lead to a couple of candid conversations between us where we were less than complimentary of each other. Looking back, I was also at fault and could have done a lot of things better. But since the project, we’ve been on good terms and she really is a lovely lady. She’d been organising the Halloween celebrations. Without thinking, I asked her how things went since I was on site that day, I asked her: “So did you dress up as a witch?”

Omg!

I’m hopeless...

Sort:  

That is so funny!!! The non-filter we sometimes have - or is Freud right? Our subconscious is so strong 😂

Hope you get some good NaNo words in - 1000 is a good start :)

Ok...maybe the fact the witch was the very first thing that came to mind might have been a Freudian thing. But she was a great vampiress too—just saw the pics yesterday—and as I said, a nice lady. She’s a Project Manager in everything, including organising our team lunch. Lol

I’ll try my best on this Nano thing. Btw, I impulsively deleted my discord account (which I still feel is a good thing), so I’m unable to fully participate on your nanomadness. I’ll spread the word where I can. Good luck to all your participants!

That is what happened. I was wondering about you and discord. It can be distracting - that is for sure...

#NovMadFan Bruni here, seeing 👀what's going on. Nice start. 👏

A witch??? You are hilarious without even trying!

I’m ridiculous, the number of times people have given me odd looks over the years is sigh-worthy.

I recently re-watched Bridget Jones and I was totally empathetic.

Good movie!

Hectic, Hectic, Hectic. My head is spinning just listening to your schedule.

Yep, the perfect way to describe my head atm: spinning. Thanks for dropping by! :)

oh my god that hilarious. Did she pick up on your underlying feelings haha ? I keep forgetting you hi in Melbourne. Sometimes I think I don't know any Australians here and then I realise that there are more than I think and I just haven't interacted with them for a while. Can you tell me what nanowrimo is? Someone mentioned it in a discord channel briefly this morning and then I saw this so it seemed a happy coincidence. Intrigued

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, riverflows! Thanks for dropping by. The PM is a very striking and attractive woman, I genuinely thought she’d make a great witch. But yes, considering past relations, she might have read my intent all wrong. I forget to filter and consider my words and often just say whatever’s on my mind. :(

As far as nanowrimo, it’s just a month where people take on the writing challenge of finishing a project by hitting 50,000 words. They have a website: https://nanowrimo.org. There’s also a group on steem that are giving it a go, so you might wish to join them? https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freewritehouse/it-s-go-time-november-madness-begins

Let me know if you decide to take up the challenge in whatever form! I’d love to know more people are participating in their own unique way. :)

:-) You did make it in time for Nov 1 in the US

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Hey marillaanne! Thanks for letting me know. I fell asleep to work nightmares last night and didn’t end up posting. :)

So will you be participating?

There's no way I can even consider writing a Novel. I've heard tell there's some challenge just to post 1000 words somewhere ... which I could totally do in my sleep ... if i didn't have to proofread it or prove anything with links. lol

there's also art every day, a photo a day, and i'm sure about 50 others. there use to be a blog post a day ... nanoblomo? i have no idea if it's still a thing.

personally I'm sitting here thinking of doing art every day with a twist. I'm wanting to make a serious stab at Zazzle. Or I could do a rescue my own web site in 30 days ... or excavate my house in order to locate the tops of the tables, chairs, floors and the front porch ...

or i could do a plant something every day ... or i could do a "here's my health recovery plan chart for accountability for 30 days.

the options never end lol

actually ... the real reason I noticed your post is because I logged into ulogs and was thinking of doing a ulog every day.

So do that, write a ulog a day. I like a lot of your options. This month it’s about the writing for me, because I grow weary of using it as an excuse to waste time.

HOPELESS.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89