The Real Benefit of Taking Naps - 2 Days in 1

in #naps5 years ago (edited)

1.jpg

I know there is a great deal of talk about the medicinal benefits of taking naps - Improved health, reduced stress, better attention and focus and so on.

But really what I have found is there is a prime reason I like to take naps, especially after work or other prolonged periods of engaging in activities not strictly aligned with our highest passions.

and it is very simple: I like to take naps because it "resets" me. Naps give me a break from an old chapter, a novel focus on the now and a magical ... rejuvenation of my being. It's like going to bed after a long day and waking up fresh with everythign reset and able to recalibrate.

Through this I have found that even a small duration of sleep can work wonders for my ability to withstand pain, to push through tough challenges or to work on my passions that are often equivalent to blood, sweat and tears - all on days where I already thought there would be nothing good coming out of the remainder of the day, especially when things didn't go my way or I felt challenged by regular "daily life".

And so, while improving health could be a major focus and a noble goal for getting better at life in general, it is this rejuvenation quality of napping, of taking that mental break for the subconscious to re-arrange itself and to let things go, that I do hit the pillow more frequently and less prolonged, especially when life circumstances demand it.

It's like having two days in one <3

Try it out more often!

2.jpg


Img srcs:

unsplash.com
unsplash.com


Thanks for stopping by <3

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @paradigmprospect! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 49000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88