Cactus land

in #narrative6 years ago


I have been going to the cactus village for almost five years now. Ever since I started getting repatriation problems, I often needed to come here and get myself on track. It is the best way, according to the psychologist nothing else will do but this. My brother Hayden and my parents often drop me here and I spend my holidays with the manager in the cactus meadow.

Luckily the old man and lady who owns the field happened to be so benevolent, only when my family pays them $600 dollars each night. This is something that they rather sacrifice, just to train my ability to focus and stop losing track. I normally go out to the cactus field with Mr. Bracket while Mrs. Bracket stays at home and cooks for us. Her family does not eat rich and nutrient food, the often just have a small bowl of water and two cucumbers and they hand me a small piece of their cactus cake.

I am normally the dog in their home. They have got a twenty nine years old daughter who comes home every Saturday. And whenever she is home she would leave whatever she doesn't want in my bowl. This has grown into the fact that now they would often ask me to drink their left overs. My parents would do anything to get my mind back to normal, even when it takes as ludicrous as this.

Tonight I am sitting in my bedroom while the lights are all out, watching the outside stars. The sky seems so beautiful with the stars gleaming in the sky. Suddenly I saw something, no it must have been a mistake. Because in my allusion I saw a vehicle flying through the sky and landed in the field where all the giant cactus were allocated. But when it was over peeped outside, something definitely were going on. This has to be real, because I can still smell the flames from the ablaze.

"Mr. and Mrs. Bracket, come and see. I think I have to show you something," I called rushing towards their bedroom and bursting open the bedroom door. "How many times, have we told you not to burst in like this and disturb out hibernation," Mr. Bracket yelled. "If you don't want to sleep, and have phasmophobia, then don't drag us into your life!" I told them what I saw, and they had to get up even when they don't believe me.

"What!" I heard Mrs. Bracket call. I ran down stairs, out through the yard and saw her standing in her husbands arms with scintillating tears running down her beautiful face. "This is not happening, our whole year's effort have been gone into zero. All these years we have lived here, with those cactuses for almost forty years," she wept. "This must have been Lena!" Mr. Bracket called. "I told you not to put pranks like this into our life. It must have been you, because no one else knows this," he yelled with anger. "No, I didn't I was in my bed when I saw this whole thing." I confessed.

"It has to be you. Aliens don't exist, don't you know any logic," Mrs. Bracket screamed. "You nasty kid, we are going to send you home strait away," Mr. Bracket said. One hand over his wife's shoulder and the other holding onto Lena's collar and won't let it go, his eyes full of malevolence. "She has to go, we cannot believe we allowed someone as pesty as Lena into our family. She is going to go first thing in the morning," Mrs. bracket murmured. "But they say, they have paid the full fund for this," Mr. Bracket told his wife.

I waited for two minutes, while the couple were whispering to each other about something inside their bedroom. Finally Mr. Bracket came out. "We have talked, and we think, because your parents have fully paid us. And we don't want to let them know this. So we are going to send you next door. The neighbors have a child who also seems very drunk, you two could become best friends," he said. "We will come and collect you the last day, when your little parents and that filthy brother of yours comes to pick you up."

I didn't know what to do, if I get out of here, I don't have to do all the painful work around the cactus field, and I would get more respected then I am now. The child they were talking about, I am not sure who he or she is. I wanted to ask them to find out, but half of me feels like I should stop getting myself into trouble all the time. "Who is this child you are talking about?" I asked, the words just came bursting out of me. "His name is Charlie," Mrs. Bracket replied with her lips pursed and busy focusing on her latest nail fashion. "How old is he?" "He is about twenty six or seven," Mr. Bracket replied. I am quite shocked, how could a mid twenty adult be called a child.

"Who is he. I think I have never met him before, last holidays when you took me to their house. I cannot remember ever hearing his name," I said with honestly an genuine. "He is not always ready to meet people, especially new people," Mr. Bracket replied half of his attraction on his phone. "What is he like. And why is he called a child if he is twenty seven?" I asked, the words just bursted out of me like a obnoxious caterpillar stuck in my throat. "You ask a lot of questions, you will see once you get there," Mrs. Bracket replied with deterred tone.

Soon we arrived, by hike to a grey house about five miles away from the cactus field. "Mrs. Cookie, are you in there?" asked Mrs. Bracket. "yes, hello my dear. Lena Avenue, like what I said. Yes she can stay in our house for a week," she said. She showed me in the house while the Bracket couples backed away out of her gates. "Do you want to see my son Charlie?" she asked sounding optimistic and polite. "Sure, I would love to meet him," I replied like a monotone robot. She walked into a room at the very end of her huge mansion. She opened the door and inside where a desk and a bed was allocated. It smelt so pungent that I would much rather be cleaning Mr. bracket's toilet seat.

"Charlie, this is Lena. Don't be shy, she is only fifteen. Don't worry, but she would love to come and meet you," Mrs. Cookie called into the darkest spot of the room. "It is fine. Charlie, she won't judge because she is very benevolent," she also added, like I am an angel. Then I heard wheelchair wheels rolling. When a figure shockingly humiliating came out of the darkest spot, it gave me a heart pound. He looked like he's been in a fire disaster a long time ago. He has scars all over his face while he happened to have no legs.

"This is my beautiful son Charlie, he is only about twelve years older than you, but he will be such a companion. He loves toys just like you do. Don't you son?" she asked. "Yah, I say I know welcome Lena!" he cried with his mouth trying to make the right sound of every word, but obviously he had some sort of accident that made his mouth cover up with defects. "Um, welcome. This is a pleasure to meet you. I am............ um , sure that we will have a lot of fun together," I said sounding as passionate and genuine as my voice can make.

"Look, she is just lie me. I love cactuses just like she loves me," he said. He didn't seem to mind that he made the whole scene look really wrong and awkward. "I bet, you will have a lot of fun with Lena. She is so calm and never gets angry like your grandma used to me," Mrs. Cookie seems to be making me like I am the best person in the world. "yay, I hope you does not hit me like Annalisa did," he seems to be really discern when it comes to social bullies. I could not stop feeling sorry for him, maybe it is because he is suffering way more than just distraction problems. I really have to get it out of me compared to someone like Charlie.

I will show you the rest of the house," Mrs. Cookie said checking her watch. "say bye to Lena, she is going to come back and talk to you in a moment, after we have our tour," she said waving to her son. "Bye, I want you love your house, with me and Mummy," he cheered. I waved and smiled. This is so different from the life at the cactus field. Sooner or later Mrs. Cookie came in and kicked the door open so that her face could face me severely.

"They found a grenade in their cactus field, can you explain how a piece of grenade would be inside something like this," she yelled with anger. "I......... don't know," I replied with confusion. "I am not going to take this, here you will be send back to your village."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16