Flood Report

in #naturaldisaster6 years ago

I took these photos from the internet just to show you the flood in my area. I really cant wrap my mind around it. Lots of people are displaced, but I dont know how many. I have to take my exam Monday, so I am trying to focus on that over all things, until then, and its really hard.

This is what it looks like now

32215187_10156103567430937_558481495216357376_n.jpg
Source KPAX news Missoula

This is what it is supposed to look like

5796ad6a3d8aa.image.jpg
source: Montana Standard

But that's not all, our Aquifer is also flooded

We also have a ground water flood that is rising under ground. So our whole area is flooding far beyond what we see above the ground.

People are advised not to pump water out of their homes yet because it could cause the foundation to collapse due to all the pressure underground.

I think a lot of people are doing this anyway because the information is just not getting out there to people. The effort to help, spread information, etc, is extremely "fly by the seat of our pants" and its just a chaotic mess. I have deep respect for the people who have been spending day and night trying to coordinate help in these conditions.

MA.png

So, thats my flood report. I have to teach for a few hours, and then study. Take care out there!

xo

dflo

Sort:  

wow crazy, stay safe!

Oh no! I'm so sorry to hear about the flood. This sounds terrible and I can't imagine how all those people are coping and that water. Good luck on your exam. Hugs

After I wrote this I just found out a pregnant friend of a friend lost her home :( its really bad

Girl that is crazy-sauce. @dflo take care of yourself out there right now. I hope the weather changes and brings you whatever dryness is required to sop that up. Good earth almighty.

thanks Omni, its hard to focus on anything else. I want to run down and help sandbag but i just have to stay in and focus. I typed this above but someone who is pregnant just lost her home. I might link a gofundme later. :( its just awful

that aerial photo is something, you can really see what is happening so much more from the air. I posted some drone pictures of the flooding of Cottonwood Creek up in my hometown of Chester about a month ago https://steemit.com/nature/@bigskycustoms/floodwaters. It is pretty amazing to see. I read in the GF Tribune today that the Clark Fork hasn't been this high in 100 years. I am also a geological engineer, so nice explanation of the aquifer situation. That will actually affect a lot more of the homes in Missoula.

wow, this looks terrible too ! I didn't even hear about that! It is pretty amazing when you think about it just in terms of what nature is all about. And yeah the aquifer part boggles my mind , too. THis area is a lot more watery than I tend to realize.

Hey I just came across a brand new Montana Steemian named @dustin-hutson . He might not even know if he is being tagged yet, he is so new :) .. Anyway I think he is closer to your area? You could drop over to his intro post and say hi!

Thanks for the heads up, I commented to welcome him and let him know I’m a Montanan also. Who was the Steemite you met in Bozeman? Was it pretty.dorky?

That's extreme. In my home country - as we're surrounded by see and are a flat country - we have taken extreme measures that many countries, states and cities could learn - and are learning - from. Not that that is of any help to you...

What kind of exam are you taking?
Hope you pass. It must be tough, under these circumstances.

<3 Vincent

That river has a lot of different channels during the flood stage!
I guess they call it a flood plain for a reason...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29