Albatrellus Pescaprae Or The Goat's Foot Mushroom

in #naturalfood6 years ago

Appearance of the goat's foot #mushroom in the spring 2018 was just another proof how this spring mushroom season is very rich! Usually, this mushroom specie is rare. I saw it maybe 2-3 times in my mushroom-picker carier & till this year never in the springtime!

This was the first one I found this spring: image

image

image

It was quite a large specimen but firstly, I didn't picked it cause of it's rarity & cause it is protected by the law. Each time when I was returning to the spot to pick #porcini, I also went to this goat's foot specimen to check out it's #growth #development.

Here's some boletes: image

image

Soon, I have noticed another smaller specimen of goat's foot just 3 m away from the first one: image

Then I was already thinking that I could at least pick one of them just to try it cause I have never tried it before but I still didn't do it until few days later when I couldn't find the large one anymore & the small was ripped out & left on the floor. I smelled it & realised that it's still fresh & good to eat, so, I took it home...

image

image

image

I made #carpaccio with it, very similar to the one with porcini (https://steemit.com/steemkitchen/@careassaktart/mushroom-hunting-and-bolete-carpaccio-preparation-3632bf7952237) but I added some fresh garlic from my garden. Goat's foot has more consistent meat, completely white but netrual in taste & with milde smell. I served it with salad.

Now I'm picking chantarelles & soon I'll share a recipe with them - follow me to stay tuned!

Upvote & resteem please! Comments are welcomed too!

Sort:  

Mamamia, another Mushroom lover! Buddy you definitely earned a follower and a mighty resteem full of respect for sharing your knowledge of rere edible mushrooms.

"What is nature if is illegal? / It ain't illegal if you ain't caught!"

I'm also a mushroom hunter, they are definitely rere but best thing about rere shrooms is that you can identify it asap, if you know it well. Mind you that they are only edible when they are as fresh as you found em and as long they have white "meat".

Steem on my friend!

Oh thank you for such an enthusiastic, brave & approving comment!

If it would be legal, probably many people would pick it & sell it to the restaurant & than it could be easily lost forever - exterminated... Cause, sadly, we - the people - do not know when to stop, generally speaking.

But yes! Another friend of mine, also a big mushroom lover, told me something like this: "Consider yourself in the Forrest's mercy, be thankful & enjoy the meal!" - this advice made my day & all of my doubts chased away!

Thank you once again!

Extermination is a word "scientist's" use to blame us, People, for doing it, not cemtrails or cutting tree's, trashing the world.. :) #MediaPower

You're right, brother, scientists misuse their authoritative position to manipulate through the media but don't forget, WE ARE ALL ONE! The sciences, the media & the shroomers are all human - the people...

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-05T05:40:48
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 828.58/1600.00
Total Photos: 57
Total comments: 28
Total contest wins: 11
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

How's it tastes man??

The taste is pretty neutral but quite fresh. Somehow, the easiest way for me to explain the taste is to compare it with cheese... I would say the goat's foot mushroom among other eatable mushrooms has the same taste neutrality like the curd cheese among cheeses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77