Benefits of Betel Leaves and Some Reasons Why I Planted Betel in the Garden

In the past when I was little, my village was still a natural village and did not even have electricity. Living in the countryside since I was born, made me grow up with the tradition of traditional medicine. I used to use plants that grew wild around my house.

Time passed, many had changed. My hometown has turned into a small town that has been built housing. Wild plants that were previously useful for curing various diseases, can no longer grow by themselves.

hhi9fz3vvf.jpg

Villagers must cultivate herbs themselves. Of the many herbs that must be in my garden, one of them is "Sirih" a.k.a. Betel.

I could say Betel Plant became a legendary plant of my family. There are so many benefits from the betel plant that our family has felt. I will share some of the following:

1.Clean the eyes from dust

As a tropical region, my village often gets hot and roads on the outskirts of the village that have not been properly paved, create dust that makes the eyes irritated.

rd71qgnpka.jpg

So, to treat this eye irritation, my mother taught me to clean my eyes with a betel leaf bath.
The trick, soak a piece of betel leaf with boiling water. Let stand until the boiling water cools, then use it to wash the eyes. Use a flat container like a plate, then bring it to the eyes, so that when the eyes blink, the water of the betel leaf can hit the inside of the eye.

The thing to remember is that betel leaf must be completely sterile before dousing with hot water. And this use should not be done often, because it will cause side effects if too often used on the eyes.

2.Traditional Mouthwash

Today, modern mouthwashes are available that are easily found on the market. Modern mouthwash is of course more practical to use, save time.

Modern people like us, of course, prefer everything that is practical because it saves time.

Meanwhile, traditional people have known the immersion of betel leaf for mouthwash that is effective in driving away bad breath and avoiding various other oral cavity diseases.

n1rs2djsbm.jpg

Likewise with my family who used to use the betel leaf marinade as a gargling remedy. I admit that at this time we rarely use traditional gargling drugs. Only if at certain times.

3.Nosebleeds

Hot weather in my area, a small town on Sumatra Island, makes me often nosebleed. Since childhood, I was familiar with nosebleeds when the temperature was dry and the weather was very hot. This type of nosebleed which is indeed not a serious impact of an illness, usually only occurs in one nostril.

zmv7eqpjx9.jpg

A powerful traditional medicine, which I have never forgotten is to treat my nosebleeds. The trick is simply to roll the betel leaf, then slowly gently enter the nosebleed nostrils. Then lie down until the nosebleed stops.

BEAUTY ASPECT, As Traditional Mascara

On the other hand, betel plants are also beneficial in the aspect of beauty. The thing I often do from the past until now is using the stem of betel and aloe vera as mascara.

ghp4vt87ob.jpg

acou1xwbl1.jpg

The trick is just to take aloe vera with betel sticks, then apply it to the lashes.

Regular use makes eyelashes thick and supple.

SELL / BUY ASPECT

My family can sell betel plants to our neighbors who are used to eating betel as a cultural tradition since they are called "Bersirih". This tradition comes from the words betel in Indonesian (Sirih).

Communities from various tribes in Indonesia, such as Malay, Batak, and so on, like to do this tradition.

The "Betel" Tradition is done with a complete set of betel are areca nuts and lime. These elements have a very meaningful philosophy in our society.

That's why my family often sells these betel leaves to my neighbors.



civ1lwt8db.jpg

Besides being useful for health and beauty, of course this small plant can provide additional income for our family.

See you at my next story about my garden!

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks for sharing all the wonderful uses of the Betel plant with the personal touches of your families remedies and how it benefits them.
I love learning about all different medicinal plants. This was one I was not familiar with. Can it be grown indoors in cold climates like Canada?

This plant can be planted indoors but must lead to the morning sun. But of course it will be difficult because betel is a tropical plant.

Thank you for reading my post.

Posted using Partiko Android

H-m-m probably not really worth it. I guess I will stick to all the wonderful plants that are native to our area. Thanks for the info!

Hi @anggreklestari!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.960 which ranks you at #11226 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 126 places in the last three days (old rank 11352).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 191 contributions, your post is ranked at #136.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

What a valuable resource to have grown up with! Did you prefer when your village was without electricity or do you like the modern conveniences more? It's cool to see people embracing parts of traditional medicine and using it to make their lives better. And I bet you could make some money on that mascara, couldn't you?

You've been visited by @nateonsteemit, on behalf of Natural Medicine.

download1.png

Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment through natural wisdoms, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you.


20SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP

Time is running, and we must be prepared to accept new things wisely and find solutions, including the matter of planting herbs that are no longer found wildly.

Thank you for visiting my post. This is the first time I've used this tag and I've joined the Natural Medicine Discord

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow this is fascinating. I had no idea that betel had so many uses!! Especially the mascara with aloe Vera!! Amazing. I loved this post!

Posted using Partiko Android

In Indonesia this plant is very popular for medicines.

Thank you for commenting.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am always fascinated how many plants are so beneficial! I had never heard of this particular one before, so it is wonderful to learn about! What a great tradition to carry forward of using what you have on hand for natural remedies.

This plant is familiar in Asia. Some religions in Asia also use betel for religious traditions.

Thanks for stopping by 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Informative post, thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for stopping by

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14