Moringa Morning Magic

We start our Thai day, every day, with what we call a morning-super-smoothie. We choose some serious natural medicine ingredients, working on the assumption that hyper-nutrition enables the body and mind to stay in optimal health. Do we have it with our breakfast? Nope. It IS our breakfast! When the body is optimally nourished, it stops screaming for carbs and cookies and snacks; there is more protein in my smoothie than 3 poached eggs, and I am rarely hungry again before 2pm. Busy solo entrepreneurial mom? No sweat. On a rushed morning we can enjoy it in traffic while we chat on the way to school.

One of my key smoothie ingredients is organic moringa, called มะรุม (ma-ruum) in Thai. Botanically, Moringa oleifera.
Moringa .jpgImage by Sapna Vibhandik from Pixabay

A whole big tablespoon of moringa powder goes into our x2 500ml super smoothies, to be exact.

MoringaPowder.jpgImage by Ondrie Schulz from Pixabay

What's the big deal about moringa?

Primarily it's what's called a nootropic - a brain-function enhancing food. Nootropic is a grandiose, in-the-know sounding term that's very general and arguably not particularly useful, as the brain simply has SOOO many, varied functions. Moringa has been clinically studied in great depth across multiple countries for decades, and has been shown to have some truly incredible, and very specific, natural brain medicine lurking in those little leaves!

  • It has been shown to be neuro-protective against age-related dementia; Source
  • It enhances spatial memory i.e. the processing of information about our immediate environment which protects against falls, danger and accidents; Source
  • It enhances cholinergic function (ie the neurotransmitter functions in the brain) which improves learning; Source
  • the cerebral protection extends beyond the thinking functions of the brain - moringa has been shown to be cerebroprotective against ischemic stroke - a leading, silent - and growing - killer; Source
  • It enhances memory function and mitigates memory impairment; Source

As an added bonus, it's a serious anti-inflammatory, powerful anti-oxidant, regulates pancreatic function (anti-diabetes) and has proven anti-cancer properties; Source

Moringa is an exceptional source of protein, containing a whopping 9 times the protein level of yoghurt. Both the leaf and the seed extracts show the full spectrum of amino acids, with the leaf extract having been shown to be digestible and more bioavailable. Source

On top of that, moringa provides 7 times more vitamin C than oranges, 10 times more vitamin A than carrots, 17 times more calcium than milk, 15 times more potassium than bananas and 25 times more iron than spinach. Source

Have I convinced you yet that you NEED to be adding this important ingredient to your daily diet? Toss the plastic coated pills and choose natural, simple, moringa powder. It tastes pleasant and leaves no bitter aftertaste in the smoothie.

Marike's Moringa Morning Magic Smoothie

Banana
Red dragon fruit, if available. Else pineapple or mango.
Soaked goji berries
Juice of 2 limes or 1 whole lemon
1 tablespoon of bee pollen
2 tablespoon coconut kefir or yoghurt
2 tablespoons cold pressed virgin coconut oil
1 tablespoon organic moringa powder
1 tablespoon raw organic black rice powder

Enough room temperature pure water to blend to your preferred consistency.

That's it. Too easy.

Most of the moringa studies look at leaf extracts. The interesting thing is that Moringa Seed Oil has ALSO been shown to have clinical benefit to improve cognitive function and the cholinergic (neurotransmitter - learning) system. Source We find that to be EXTRA EXCITING since we know ingredients from skin care products are absorbed directly into the blood stream over time, and we at Pure Thai Natural Co Ltd already make organic skin care products using organic Moringa Seed Oil. Specifically, our Intensive Skin Repair Balm, Eye Area Treatment Oil and Tattoo After Care products. Yes, you can find those in our store, and yes, we ship world-wide. Why is that exciting? The thought that a skin care item is delivering natural medicine to your blood stream transdermally which improves learning and memory? While you sleep? It takes the 5 minute evening face care routine beyond looks and into a whole other brain-nourishing realm.

Organic Moringa Oil.png

The burning question I am often asked is where to BUY organic moringa powder? I buy my moringa leaves in bulk from the indigenous Karen people here in Northern Thailand who grow, harvest and air dry it for me - we are currently grinding it for our very popular new range of face masks, face scrubs and body scrubs, which will be out publicly, for sale, NEXT WEEK (after the product photography is finished). Early next year (2020) when our new licensed food grade premises are finished in Mae Sariang, we will also have Thai FDA approved, fairly traded, organic moringa powder produced by our indigenous Karen community for sale via our own online stores.

Meanwhile, you can buy moringa powder from Blue Diamond The Breakfast Club in Chiang Mai, from the Agricultural Store next to the Royal Project Shop at CMU, and it is often seen at the Jing Jai Organic Market on Sundays.

It's exciting to discover each day that what we do, matters. Knowing that the young moringa trees we have planted and nurtured like this:

67265106_504590847037944_1722611623220215808_n 1.jpg

will end up protecting your brain, enhancing your health and enabling your learning? It just makes me quietly thankful and more committed than ever before. That our social enterprise is also creating jobs for displaced Karen indigenous people? It sustains me when little else does.

BlissednBlessed in my Thai Natural World.


Originally published on my own blog Natural Thai Life - my unapologetically personal view of natural Thailand after 16 years here as a natural products business owner and a solo entrepreneurial mom.

Come check out my natural Thai herbal business…

Logo1.jpg
Pure Thai Naturals
@ecoTrain Quality Eco-Green-Sustainable Content on Steemit
ecotrainbannerpassenger.png
Proudly contributing to @naturalmedicine natural-medicine banner.jpg

Grateful for the curation and support of @tribesteemuptribesteemupbannerNM2.png

Celebrating and encouraging Freedom, Truth, Happiness, Life and Love with @freedomtribe freedom_steem_tribe.jpg

Sort:  

I want to grow it. I wish!! I had never heard of it til Steem. I would love some of your moringa powder... are you able to bring some with you when you come? And loving the NOOTROPIC post... are you the first one?

You better get some seeds when you get that Moringa powder! Sally Beth gifted me some when she was at her Farm in Spain. Oh my goodness cannot wait to grow it. I tell you if it grows here it can grow anywhere. Though I haven't tried yet. Waiting for the perfect time! Life is so complicated here. Maybe I can even send you these seeds if you want?

Oh that could be fun!!!! Contact me on Discord and I will DM my address!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh man I don't really do Discord. Could you email me? [email protected]

Thanks for the reciepe!

You're most welcome. Enjoy. :)

You're most welcome. Enjoy. :)

Usually, I make Moringa leaves for noodles and for stir fry.

My mother said Moringa is a magical plant that is related to the "other" world

Yes, I've heard that too! (although not from Thai people - from several older non-Christian Karen people, and an older Bangladeshi-Indian). You must never cook the moringa though - it denatures the very volatile enzymes. Just toss the leaves in fresh after the heat is switched off. :)

Gorgeous post. Downright inspiring, every word. I'm thinking moringa might have great benefit for the mandatory vaccines that are sweeping the USA, with the rest of the world soon to follow.
Do you ship to the USA?
xo

I think moringa may be one of the key foods for all kinds of serious injury recovery - also for people with gut absorption issues. Ingesting the nutritional intensity of moringa in a bioavailable form greatly increases the chance of nutrient absorption. Yes, we ship to the US with DHL - takes about 5 days with full door to door service and tracking.

I just got this message when I tried to go to your website www.purethainaturals.com is currently unavailable.
I need this stuff for my son, who is very ill and has been for many years. I finally had to resort to western meds, which of course any good they do is short lived, traumatic to administer, costly and making me very nervous. Crohn's disease triggered by excess vaccination

Hi @owasco I have in the last 36 hours been receiving threats from a far right pro Beijing facebook person who took great exception to my posting about the "victory" of the protestors over the chinese goverment. My daughter and I have been threatened with rape, detainment and guns have been mentioned. I THOUGHT it was under control but it surfaced again today - same unhinged weirdo, different profile. I took one site down for a day or two and the Natural Thai Life site I have had to close down the messaging facility on police advice. Very disturbing.

If you can message me your postal info and phone number (DHL need) and if you're OK to just pay the shipping, I'd be more than happy to gift you a kilogram (2.2 pounds) of my finest moringa powder. I can check the shipping amount and funds request you with paypal, or you can cover the shipping to steem is OK too.

Appreciating how helpful this might be for him and actually thought of you when I wrote the post.

Sorry for the inconvenience - it has been a very distressing 36 hours.

Just DM me through discord. LOL. Everything else is locked down till this nutter calms the fuck down.

Oh my goodness! That sounds horrible! I think of you as safer in Thailand (Thailand, right?) than we are here, but perhaps not. I am also politically active on FB and get a LOT of negative comments, but nothing like what you are experiencing.
Your offer is far too generous! But I'll accept!

The internet has changed the arena of conflict. Normally I am a-political (sort of) and I simply reposted the victory article from The Independent. It will cool off and blow over. Good to see the vulnerabilities of that world and withdraw. Let's connect via DM tomorrow. It's nearly 10pm Saturday night here.

And yes, Thailand. As some would say, China's next southern province. Colonialism through business and control of water rights etc, rather than active war. But it's real and China want this fertile part of the world for its huge, hungry population.

I wish you a deep and restful sleep. xo

This tree is wonderful! ... you have to see who was in my Moringa tree 😊🌿🦎

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I'm going to check out you moringa tree too - I skimmed past it earlier. NICE. :)

Not aware about moringa oil or moringa smoothie, but we use to eat them regularly especially during the season change..to protect from measales or small fox dieseasea

Yes, the new season pods are often for sale here too in the shift from cool season to hot season. Moringa is a truly AMAZING natural medicine tree. Thanks for stopping by. :)

Thanks for sharing much more detailed use of it

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Aaaw - happy bunny cupcakes on a Friday night? Sweet! :) Thank you so much for the curation love and support @priyanarc.

sending love for you also...

Wonderful post! I must get myself some moringa for my morning smoothie! II think I have a supplier here in Canada until you get it set up in your store to carry the moringa powdered leafs.
Thanks for sharing and for all the wonderful work you do with the Karen people!

funny you mention the Karen people I was actually just going to Google with that meant!

Natural life with some natural products, @artemislives. I enjoy they way you describe about Moringa and it is good to consume them in the morning for breakfast.. Hmm..could you send some of them to Indonesia. :)

what a informative post you have, moringa is popular into our country also. We called it (malunggay), from what I know this leaves have many vitamins to provide. Also someone told me that it's good for immune system to make stronger.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00