Blueberry Picking fun

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

Hi Steemians,

Enjoying the summer here in Boston, the weathers been pretty nice! Lots of hot weather but several mild days recently. We took advantage of one of the milder days which just happened to be a day off for me which was great, and went blueberry picking. Love fresh blueberries! This one farm near us has the best I’ve had so we’ve gone every year for the past 3 years!

They’ve got about 100 blueberry trees, it’s wild! I’m used to seeing blueberry bushes but these are actual trees that one needs a ladder to harvest!

1D650633F8D24E1DB903C5AB556D6689.jpeg

We grabbed about 10 pounds of blueberries these things were so delicious! I couldn’t stop myself from picking.

9B34F9D0E6EE489A89521DB00A12926B.jpeg

It filled 2 large 3 quart bowls and one smaller bowl, which filled about five Mason jars full of berries.

1C055D36357241C48D715E832559566F.jpeg

A18E64DC236F47C49AD137B1737293C2.jpeg

I also ended up making homemade blueberry jelly, my first time!

913725D44E334DFA912C21473AFC72DF.jpeg

It came out incredibly watery since I just put it in the pressure cooker with some sugar, hoping I wouldn’t have to add pectin but alas I did. I ended up using the recipe:

6 cups of blueberries
2 cups of sugar
1 juiced lemon
Two packages of fruit pectin

I cooked the blueberries in a pressure cooker for two minutes on high pressure with the sugar. Then I added the lemon juice and slowly added in the fruit packed in a little bit at a time until it had the consistency I wanted. The next pectin and I am going to try will be unsweetened pectin, The sweetened one added a bit of a different flavor from the original unsweetened.

The farm also had these hungry ass goats! These things absolutely loved plantain growing around them as well as lots of grass. Bottomless pits! I can see why they use them to eat poison ivy.

4474BE3DBA7640698BFD7467CF9F23E5.jpeg

That bundle of plantain went in seconds!

Connect with me!
Did you enjoy this post or my other posts? Please consider following me for more! @cmplxty

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 553 PRE tokens, with a market value of $3.21. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043

Still using Steemit.com? Upgrade! Steempeak is a much better user-interface, gives loads more information at your fingertips and has some great developers behind it. Give it a try, go to www.steampeak.com and see how much easier it is. You just need to use Steem Connect, one of the most secure ways to log into other Steem frontends.

Capture.JPG

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Great job sharing this amazing publication with us today, we @farms are pleased to have come across this post and find it of great importance to this community.

Resteem

SteemChurch Farm (@farms)

Thanks! We visit a farm twice a week to pick up our CSA shares and do lots of fresh picking on the side, love supporting local growers!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Now you have a free investment lol
$trdo

Thanks! I’ll take any I can get lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00