Elderberry and Passionflower - Day 182 - Daily Haiku - 100% of SBDs pledged to @rhondak's #tarc dog rescue

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)

20180806_141642 - Passionflower blossom.jpg
Passionflower blossom in full bloom

Elderberry and
passionflower are two of
my favorite herbs

This post is Part 1 of my response to @naturalmedicine's contest to share my own story of what natural medicine means to me and why.

I have to get up really early tomorrow, so tonight's post will be rather short, but tomorrow's will go into far greater detail.

And I am still donating 100% of all SBDs earned by the post to @rhondak's dog rescue, #tarc. I read that SBDs are currently set at zero, but on my posts it still shows up at 50%, so I'm going with that, and if for some reason they are not forthcoming, I will make it up in Steem.

I've mentioned in previous posts that, in our previous back yard, in Largo, Florida, we had a huge elderberry bush that was planted by birds, and bore prolifically year after year.

And I was thrilled upon moving to Tennessee to know that he had several bushes, until the first year they were eaten down by deer before they even bore berries, and then when our sinkhole grew, their roots were exposed and they died. Damn.

So I was doubly thrilled this spring when I found a field that has been left to run wild, and found not only numerous elderberry bushes, but several passionflower vines as well, one of which already has immature fruit that are beginning to gain in size. Woo hoo!

20180806_141535 - Elderberries with ripening berries.jpg
Elderberry bushes with large clumps of ripening berries

For those who don't know, elderberry has a number of medicinal uses, primarily for its antiviral qualities, and the berries are commonly made into a syrup. And, unlike many (if not most) homemade medicinal remedies, it tastes fabulous!!!

I made elderberry syrup every year when we lived in Florida, and any time one of us felt as though we were starting to come down with something, we would take a spoonful of elderberry syrup once every couple of hours, and usually by the following day we were already feeling considerably better.

In my own experience, elderberry syrup, when taken at the first sign of symptoms, reduces both the length and the severity of viral infections such as colds or the flu.

And it tastes amazing over ice cream, or stirred into hot tea, kombucha or water kefir!

Passionflower, on the other hand, while I have always loved it, I have thus far not grown it myself. But I will be collecting seeds from the fruit, and attempting some cloning via vine cuttings, so hopefully that will soon change.

I had a go to herbal muscle relaxant for years, which used to be distributed by Publix, which consisted of a combination of passionflower (passiflora), kava kava, valerian and skullcap, and it was wonderful stuff. It was very relaxing, but allowed me to still function, with no sleepiness during the day, though it allowed me to get to sleep faster and stay asleep, and gave me no hangover feeling upon awakening.

On the other hand, I gave some to a colleague one day, who was experiencing severe back pain, and she gave it back to me later in the day, with the comment that she couldn't take it any more, because it sent her math brain out skipping in a field. ;-)

Like all remedies, individual reactions vary, and what is perfect for one person may prove to be entirely unsuitable for the next, despite similar circumstances and uses.

Always listen to your own body. It won't steer you wrong.

More tomorrow, and I'm looking forward to reading more responses to this question/contest! I've personally had far better results over the course of my life with natural medicines than I ever have with conventional / allopathic medicine.

I am a great believer that the human body can perform remarkable feats of healing if we simply supply it with the proper substances with which it can bring about such healing.

#ecotrain #ghsc #thirtydayhaikuchallenge #steemsugars #teamgirlpowa #womenofsteemit #steemusa #qurator #steemitbasicincome #knot #bethechange #chooselove #naturephotography #photography #neighbors #beauty #love #animals #dogs #rescue #adoption #spayandneuter #homesteading #permaculture #naturalhealing #dogrescue #dogsofsteemit #grace #poetry #philosophy #beablessing #elderberry #elderberries #passionflower #passiflora #naturalremedy #remedy #poetsunited

@edxserverus_5 - TSU Banner.png

SubscriptionPackOwner.png

TribeGlobalLove Banner.png

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

have u ever heard of tulsi , its a plant from which many medicines are made , even of some killer diseases , it is said that having one leaf per day of tulsi plant can reduce chances of cancer to 0% .

I LOVE tulsi, and have for years. I am nearly out at the moment, and so need to replenish my stock, and hope to grow some throughout the winter months. It makes an amazingly delicious tea. ;-)

Thanks for your lovely and lucid comment!

lots of love to you lots of love to you :-)

And lots of love to you as well, @prashantthakur!
Be blessed in all you do! ;-)

Darling!! I'm so sorry I missed this one!!! You already have our upvote via TSU, but here's some NM love in the form of a comment! I adore elders - they totally rock. That relaxing mix sounds amazing - I have kava and passionflower in my mix, and another sleeping tablet with valerian and lavender - no skipping in fields, sadly, but it does give me a good night's sleep! Adding this to the round up post, and thanks for entering, using our tag, and the banner looks absolutely gorgeous too, even if we do say so ourselves! xxx

SMALLBANNERFORCOMMENTS.jpg

Thanks very kindly!

I'm SOOOOO glad you've started this initiative, since this has been mostly what I've been writing about for quite a while now! Good to get back into the swing of things!

Brilliant - really appreciate your enthusiasm and so glad you are on board. We need people like you! xxx

Don't look now, but here comes another . . . and, definitely, one of my longer-winded posts.

But then, when it comes to health and healing, I believe in giving people all the information I can, as you never know which tidbit of info will wind up helping people the most.

And it often differs with each person. ;-)

Very interesting about Elderberry syrup, I had not heard of that before to prevent colds I will have to give it a try.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

You won't be sorry, I promise.
It works exceptionally well, and tastes amazing, unlike the vast majority of natural remedies. SCORE!!! ;-)

There is a commercial elderberry syrup in the States, that may be available in Europe, called Sambucus, by Nature's Way, which is sold to mitigate the symptoms and severity of colds and flu.

Sambucus is also the genus name of the elderberry family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25