Sort:  

Psilocybin from E-coli? Impressive. Though I'm not sure what to think of the statement that growing it in mushroom form would require extensive real-estate and time. I mean, I used to grow it in jars on my shelf. I was a complete novice to it, following only instructional YouTube videos, with limited time and very little space. Within only a month I had more mushrooms that I could ever want to eat, so I was playing Santa Claus with it. Just imagine how much of it I could grow if I did it full-time, dedicating the entire studio apartment for it. Now applying the same thing to a warehouse... you could probably supply an entire city with psilocybin.

By the way, what I find super fascinating about psilocybin research is not only how it can be helped for mental disorders, but also such things as alcoholism (and other substance abuse / dependency), violence, lying, cheating, and other types of behavior deemed "antisocial". This also explains why it has been treated as a controlled substance by those who are not interested in people being socially responsible (such as the pharma industry, among others).

One problem with pharma research is they look at only one molecule, not a whole system. I guess because it is difficult to pinpoint mechanism when there is a soup of components. The big time saver is the fact that they get pure psilocybin without having to extract it from the fungus. Given that they just need a standard room for this method they could produce millions of doses without all the overhead of the fungus growing production site.

Looking at this from just the production side it looks incredible. Looking at it from the holistic side I find it slightly off putting. The mushroom experience is not just due to the psilocybin but from the various other alkaloids in the fungus. By stripping out just this alkaloid it will be interesting to see what happens clinically. The pharma side is looking for a patentable tech to make profits, not help people. If helping people were truly their motive than psychedelics would never have been deemed a controlled substance.

It is HIGH time that humanity relearns the astounding benefits of psychedelics for our mental and physical well being.

Fully agree on the holistic aspect!
As far as the pharma industry goes, one can argue whether it was developed with bad intentions to begin with, or whether it just grew into what it is by convenience and market forces. Fact is, it's not helping us. But I think the same thing could be said about any industry, anchored in our current system. So in the end they might not be so bad, if the concept of business ethics was more than just hipocrite lip service.

Business and Ethics are 2 things that diverged a long time ago, sadly. Our planet is a corporatocracy now thanks to that divergence and is completely controlled by the lack of ethics in general. Some companies attempt to be generally conscious but the "investors are always right" mentality needs to frickin stop.

Agree, though I don't see a chance of that happening as long as you can't get your hands on any money without immediately owing to someone...

Hi, @flemingfarm!

You just got a 0.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Haha Psilocybin is the best. I would like them to produce it on an industrial scale for my personal consumption lol.

"According to the authors, their E. coli produced more psilocybin than any other organism retrofitted with "magic mushroom" DNA to date."

Interesting, I kind of want to know what other organisms they have tried this with. I have always wondered if one could produce 'GMO designer drugs" (for lack of a better term) because I would super want some DMT producing weed.

I would super want some DMT producing weed.

HOLY SHIT ME TOO!!!!! That would be some serious shit though I bet super fun!

I would assume a bunch of various bacteria and other fungus have gotten the DNA. Be very interesting to see the full list.

Yeah the truth is never as fun as my fantasies, sadly. This is still interesting, though. I never expected to see this strong of a mainstream movement to study psychedelics but I am happy that is happening. Outlawing those substances (at least, the classic ones) is one of the worst mistakes our species has ever made, in my opinion.

It's sad. Humans have locked up, silenced, and killed all the shamans. Then with prohibition so strong and societies too complacent, we have the current state. At least the tide is starting to turn and the "medical" value is finally being researched.

Truth.

I do see the shift coming. The younger generation seems to have more of an interest in those drugs than my fellow "80's babies" did. I remember that scene being fairly small when I was a teenager and in my twenties. Now, I see the "kids" memeing about DMT and shit. Hopefully, they push us over the line and I can get some damn mushrooms at the store like a civilized human being. lol

I'd be down for this!!

Nice. Hawaian sounds interesting.

You've been DOWNLOTUSed.

It's probably because you've used the #naturalmedicine tag and/or posted content on https://naturalmedicine.io/ that was deemed inappropriate for some reason.

Firstly — do not take this personally; this is not a reflection or a judgement on your character. There is no failure, only feedback. Use this as the opportunity to improve the quality of what you are creating.

Secondly — this means only your LOTUS rewards will have been affected.

The most likely reasons could be:

  • Plagiarism (copied from elsewhere)
  • Content that has nothing to do with 'natural medicine'
  • Token-farming
  • Offensive material or content that is driven by hate with the express intent to cause harm or distress to others.
  • 💩posting
  • Failure to follow these posting guidelines

You’re invited to discuss this further in the #downlotus-appeals channel in our Discord server https://discord.gg/ecEBwJT

Not specifically Psilocyben, but muscimol has made my life so much better! Some people believe it is a sanctioned being because the intelligence it possesses to target out individuals specific issues that need to be held. Bring back the shamans!!!like you say 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99