The Herb Challenge

Shortly after @riverflows posted the community challenge for Natural Medicine, I made a delicious fresh salad using basil! But it never occurred to me to take pictures or document my experience!

The moment was lost forever...

But the show must go on!


The first time I used basil was when I made Ratatouille. I bought a little bundle of leaves inside a little plastic container that I spent more money on than I would care to share. But when I opened that baby up, our tiny home was filled with a glorious aroma! It instantly felt more warm and cozy...as if that's even possible with a delicious tomato based stew happening in the background!

Since then, I have tried without much success to grow it. I guess throwing some seeds down next to mature tomato plants and "hoping for the best" is not the right combination.

This year, however, we were blessed in using a greenhouse to start seeds, and by golly we started some basil! Now they happily live next to their companion tomatoes in the garden.

Now I need to learn how to harvest the seeds!


So, after learning about this challenge, my curiosity was sparked about the medicinal properties basil might have. I had seen it in essential oil form, but honestly, any herbs that I can add to my favorite Italian foods seem more like an extract for lasagna than something I would put on my skin or an infuser haha.

And so the research began!

Did you know that basil can help with depression, migraines, vomiting and nausea? No wonder I felt so good the first I opened that package all those years ago!

Now, if you were so inclined to eat it, because let's be real, it's delicious, you'll also be getting vitamin K, vitamin A, calcium, iron and manganese! Dang!

Of course, it's something that is better used fresh and in season, which is summertime. But living in a place with long winters, I can't imagine waiting that long every year! I'll be dipping in all winter long haha.


Thank you so much @riverflows for hosting this challenge, and giving me an opportunity to learn more about something I might have not done otherwise. And thank you everyone for reading!

Much love,
Stacie D


Sort:  

Basil is one of my FAVE spices and Herbs
Basil and Oregano, tops for my kitchen and cooking.

Thanks for sharing on @pypt #pypt

Absolutely! Thank you for shedding a little more light on how to care for it once you're cooking with it!

BTW, every once in a while, I do a big batch of pesto and freeze it.

Garlic, pine nuts, and basil.
Toss it into a food processor. Pulse a lot.
Drizzle olive oil in, while running the processor.
I take the whole thing and freeze it. About 15 or 30 minutes into freezing, take a spoon or fork, and crumble... before it gets completely rock hard.

That makes it easier to pull out bits when you use it.
BTW, Most Pesto calls for Parm cheese. I dont add that until after it's out of the freezer.

Nice! I think we'll definitely have to try it!

I cook a ton, so it really helps

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

@freedomtowrite basil sure is a superfood. We love basil in pesto. Thanks for sharing on #pypt

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I would like to try basil pesto...it sounds delicious!

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

Heard you chatting about this one on #pypt today but couldn't get to chime in until now.

Fresh basil, fresh tomatos, and mozzarella make a great salad!

Absolutely! I did tomatoes, cucumbers, a little italian dressing and then the basil 😀

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

Thanks for sharing this at PYPT this past week! Basil seems to grow well in planters, so transplant some into terra cotta pots for bringing indoors in the winter! 😊

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89