Plantain! Entry to the Plant Medicine Contest

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

Oh my! This week has been weird for me..! I've felt a bit besides myself for the last couple of days, in some grey zone of maybe a bit sick (just slightly), meeting new people, while not on the highest of my energy and having my period.. I haven't really managed to keep up with most parts of my life lately.. and definitely not the online part...
I've been in the radio too... 😳 just like that, I even forgot to listen when it got aired..
AND THEN! I just realised the deadline for entering the Plant Medicine Contest is tomorrow, and I really wanted to make something for this contest! Because I think it is awesome..!
The idea is to explore a plant - this week to choose between Elacampane, Basil or Plantain - or all of them, and write ANYTHING about any of them!
I think it's such a great way to learn about new plants from different points of views!
But I have totally not been online - so now I made a very quick post, just to get my foot in, and then I will explore some of the other entries!

So I chose Plantain!

The reason I wanted to choose plantain, was because it is the only plant I would be able to find outside right now, and my first idea was to go out and pick it and eat it and touch it and feel it and make something great with it... But now it's night and.. I lost time.. I did locate it outside though!
SO! Instead I am going to make a little plantain and ART post!

I made this, ehm, very quick little drawing and text 😁

plantain.jpg

and that's basically my entry....!

But I also want to share a little other drawing where I used plantain in art! Because I think plantain is such a beautiful plant ❤

20181204_192659.jpg

20181204_155555.jpg

Okay, I can't keep it any longer, my son is thirsty and bored, so ciao everybody!

Sort:  

That is absolutely amazing. I love it, and agree with @aretmislives. That's a winner.

Also, would you sell the snake one? It looks amazing and is kind of blowing my mind right now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!
Wow, so happy you ask! but the original was a christmas present for my cousin :) Prints are available on RedBubble though :)
Thank you so much again 💖

Perfect timing! We're getting new clothes this spring, and that shirt is speaking to me. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

We could be t-shirt twins Nate! I was looking at them too! Gorgeous artwork @frejafri, I love botanical illustrations. I could cover a wall with them.

You'd appreciate this.

I found it when first starting to look into witchcraft and herbal medicine a few months ago. I was looking at books on herbs from the time of the witch hunts. This was printed on a Gutenberg press, likely one of the same ones that printed the Malleus Maleficarum.

Seems significant to me.

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you @walkerland and @nateonsteemit - how I would love to see you in those T-shirts 😍😜
Wow that plantain print looks cool too, wild which plant! 😁

Oh wow!! I LOVE THIS. And so much more original & creative than rewriting facts & others content from the internet. Your snake art is simply stunning. You'd get first place if I was a judge. 😍😘💚

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you!! 😁💖🙏

Love your drawings! Especially the snake... :))

Congratulations @frejafri! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 17000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 18000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hahaha freja <3 I love your spirits so much, and it is so adorable how this has become both a plant medicinal entry AND and art post ! Your illustrations are well drawn, I love how you annotate the plant parts and the way you use the white highlights <3

And I remember that picture with the snake from a while ago ! Still very beautiful !!! * ___ *

Congratulations @frejafri! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

You've been visited by @riverflows, on behalf Natural Medicine.

Oh gosh! I love your artwork! And plantain always looks so beautiful - such an overlooked plant, just under our feet, but such an important one!


NM GEN 2.jpg

20SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP

If you'd like to support Natural Medicine on the Steem Blockchain, please join us on Discord, or delegate by clicking any of the links above! We're all about supporting those who write about natural healing, from herbs to yoga to being part of the natural world! Come join us!

That is beautiful. I love plantain too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78