Natural Medicine and Ecotrain Unite: 🚂 The Alternative Consumer Challenge!

Here's my attempt at the Alternative Consumer Challenge by @naturalmedicine and @ecotrain.
What does conscientious consumer behavior look like? The term "carbon footprint" is coming up for me. Which is basically what emissions of "energy" do you emit in your daily activities? How can these energies have a balance with the natural cycle of life and how do unbalanced energies damage our sustainability and our very survival.

This is a crucial topic, as many of us know we are on a precipice of major change.

I believe the topic of consumerism, at it's core is about

ACCOUNTABILITY

of our actions. If we do not understand that the tomato at our local grocery store was grown in California, shipped to Florida, to Michigan then to Montana or wherever you live, this is absolute madness. (In early 1900's there were over 89% of all Americans had back yard gardens, today less than 1% are growing their own food or have a relationship with what sustains them.)
permaculture.jpg https://images.app.goo.gl/3MvhBpRezruuSti46

However, with the great AWAKENING as I like to call it, many our taking their power back and learning how to garden and create healthy habits that support local agriculture, homesteading @homesteaderscoop and education if possible.

A topic that runs heavy in my heart is that of the chemical/plastic/hazardous waste pollution problems globally. If I see another picture of a plastic beach, I might try to jump from a cliff. I can only cry so much for the turtles, whales and all life on this beautiful planet before I create a tsunami of tears! To change the extinction of all life, we must change our basic knowledge/understanding of our carbon footprint and what we leave behind from what we consume consume consume.

Blanco-Conx.png

I am an advocator of system tools that you integrate into your lifestyle that can make it easier and attainable. These healthier choices for you, friends and family can inspire others to do the same. If there is no easy system, in my experience it will become a fad thing you try and never go back to.

System tools, System tools, System tools!

For Example: Heading out to the grocery store, do you have cloth or reusable bags? I keep a box of clean glass jars/lids, clean cloth and plastic bags, that includes the thin plastic you get to put your veggies in, wire ties/rubber bands, a pen, and some blank labels. I even have 2 cooler kind of bags, that work well for re-fridge items. Yes, I actually re-use the thin bags! As soon as I am done with one, I rinse it and have a cork board in my kitchen that I tack all random stuffs like that I need to dry. It works amazing and is super easy to do. 20190609_115120.jpg
@kimmysomelove42

I am a coffee drinker, and like to buy it in bulk. One day I had a thought, my goddess, I have a pile of these coffee bags, why do I keep taking a new one? So I save them now, re-use them, put several empties into my box in my car and I figured out a great use for them, which is to save and keep your dried seeds from your garden. Coffee has tanic acids in it and the residue left behind in those bags will kill any kind of weavel or bug that wants to get into your seeds. Many of these coffee bags have an air hole at the top or in the bag to let any moisture out, perfect once again for seed storage.
20190609_125535.jpg@kimmysomelove42

20190609_125515.jpg@kimmysomelove42
My radish seeds from 3 years ago, look like I just harvested them, no weavel holes nothing!

Tannis are the way nature preserves a seed by a coating of tannins, this insures survival of the species and for the seed to withstand the harshness conditions of Winter and protect from bugs etc. Plants with high tannins; tobacco, coffee, black walnut.

I am fortunate to have access to good local farmers markets, buying co-ops and many grocery stores that sell in bulk. For those that don't, it can be challenging to find anything not in packaging, perhaps you could form a buyers co-op in your town/village that allows you to buy better quality and more local as possible?

I find myself asking questions when I'm shopping, can I re-use the bottle or container the product is in? I always always read labels as I am super picky about chemicals and corporation agendas. Typically, the products loaded with toxins are usually the products that have an unconscionable amount of plastic packaging and I stay far away from those.
Blanco-Conx.png

A wonderful law in our city, that I helped getting signatures for, is: it is illegal for any store in our county to give away plastic bags!!!! If this was a national law there would be billions of pounds of plastic saved from entering our rivers, streams, lakes, oceans etc. Many Northwest cities and counties are implementing this and making single use plastics illegal as well.

My next quest is to approach, my local YMCA. They offer a roll of really heavy plastic bags in the women's locker room for bathing suits etc. I watch as the same members, come every day and take yet another bag for their suit, what about using the one from yesterday PEOPLE? Do you really need another bag? The thought is not even in their consciousness, because the system tool of just taking taking taking anything free is somewhere programmed in the limbic system. I'm going to see if we can get a towel/suit spinner unit and if I can find a company that supplies bio-degradable bags instead and perhaps to even find a corporate sponsor for them. @ElAmental has really encouraged many of us here with many @earthdeed challenges. I keep his words of inspiration in my daily activities, thanks buddie!

Oregon is setting the stage for the HEMP revolution. I truly believe in our lifetime we will see the transformation of all plastics being replaced with biodegradable hemp and compost products.

It is happening!!!

The more we stop buying the single use plastic containers and forcing the manufactures to change their production habits, the quickest way we can get on with the restoration of our planet and sanity as a species. This is the best and quickest way to start the healing of our planet, from the destruction of petrochemicals and the consumption and dependency on them. Hemp is the number one carbon sequestering plant!
That is a MIRACLE people!!

Check out this company that is actually doing it.
I came across them last year when vending a festival in southern Oregon. image2.png
http://box5717.temp.domains/~oregengr/home-page/ this is part of their mission statement and all is grown locally! Seems like a wonderful chart to apply to any level of consumerism. Perhaps I'll approach them about the bags for the YMCA?

One of my lifetime goals is to approach many of the festivals I work for and see if we can change policies and products within. For example, in the U.S. there are 1500 plastic water bottles being used every second, uh this is CRAZY TALK!!!!!! We send over 38 billion tons of waste to our landfills each year in American alone!! How will there be any space or living Earth in the future if this continues?
Several years ago, I was working a giant festival and the entire catering area for the thousands of production people, only offered bottled water in plastic, they had a bleak recycling/trash crew that year as well. It broke my heart to have to see this level of insanity. I blathered my face off, insisting they bring water trucks in and we bring our own bottles and to get a recycle crew that worked with the local municipalities etc. and landfills or I was walking and would let the world know what dismal carbon footprint policy they had! To my pleasant surprise, the following year, many water trucks were brought in. Costs were saved and it was a step in a better direction for all. Sometimes, it's just the mere idea of changing the system, most people when given the choice, in my experience, will make a healthier decision if educated.

I hope to get wiser and wiser with my consumer behavior and a healthy balance between that behavior and my creative behaviors. There is much peace for me when I'm balanced with these 2 energies. I love to encourage others to hold high respect for themselves and this miracle living breathing loving Earth we all share.

Blessings and PLEASE BE ACCOUNTABLE for YOUR CONSUMPTION habits for the short time you are here.

gJFH86Ha-MindfulLife.gif

banner.png

New Amazing Cross Post App from Twitter, YouTube and Instagram
https://www.share2steem.com/?ref=kimmysomelove42

My Instagram Page: https://www.instagram.com/kimmysomelove42/
My new YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCygEZQvRTSYqjZW9RgKbCOw?view_as=subscriber
Want more followers?
https://old.steemfollower.com/?r=16189
https://steemengine.net/join?r=3935

33y6lnp.jpg
New Amazing Cross Post App;
https://share2steem.io/?ref=kimmysomelove42
https://www.instagram.com/kimmysomelove42/
Want more followers?
https://old.steemfollower.com/?r=16189
https://steemengine.net/join?r=3935
Or better yet, get paid to search the web, this site is fast and amazing!

presearch

Sort:  

People like to complain if they don't get their disposables, but they get used to it once it's normalized. Like we have a grocer, Vitamin Cottage (aka "Natural Grocers") - they offer NO BAGS AT ALL - not paper OR plastic - and instead they put all their product boxes that the goods get delivered to the store in up front and if people forget their bags, they can take a box. Reuse! While I'm sure they've had a bitchy customer or two, I've never seen anyone have a meltdown or it stop the flow of a checkout line from people complaining. The customers just got used to it. Now imagine if all stores did that?

we have a natural grocers too, and I love how they offer boxes, I use them a lot. I also appreciate their plastic bulk bags that have the zip so you can re-use them. They don't use them all the time.. I have a good friend starting a plasticlessplanet bizness education and promoting alternatives to plastics.. I have interest in learning how we can bridge the big companies with alternatives world wide.. Big Mission on to do list!!

People freaked out to when they couldn't get a bag in our county, without being charged 5Cents at least that's how they do it here. Now if a store or biz gives away plastic bags people be like WHAT and reporting them LOL! Sounds funny... bag police HA. People figure it out.

My dad was that guy, who took 20 plastic bags to get his weekly groceries. A couple summers ago I was visiting the folks and couldn't believe it. We debated it out. Didn't take much, I just went and got some cool cloth bags I put in both of their cars. My mother couldn't believe it, now he never takes them. All about the habits. As a matter of fact, that's what I'm gonna go hunt for today is a cool UofO fridge grocery bag to send him for Father's Day!

I haven't seen a zipper bag in their "bulk" section (that's been my one complaint about them, is that they pre-portion their bulk into little plastic baggies... )! Maybe that's new. I haven't shopped in their bulk in a while, since I usually just take my jars and flour sacks to Sprouts for bulk. :)
HA I believe it about the bag police, but at least they are being anal about a good cause. XD
The cooler bags are nice when you ride the bus like me. If I'm just strolling to the stores that are close I don't usually bother, but when I know it's going to take a while to commute, I do. Mine is from Wild Oats, where I used to work, and which got bought out by Whole Foods years ago. I also have a VC/NG bag that actually says "Vitamin Cottage" instead of "Natural Grocers" and is canvas (which I don't think they have canvas ones anymore?). The last time I used it there, the cashier was like "OH YOU'RE A LONG TIME BAG REUSER!" lol

Ireland paved the way, in the early 90's I traveled there and they were charging for bags then, and had the least amount of trash and garbage in their country really helps.

That's awesome!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

NOM NOM NOM me has cake, tanks @helpie!

The corkboard idea is cute!! I use a small string "washing line" in the kitchen with some wooden clothespegs - works great. Ultimately the idea is to simply USE LESS. Like the way you emphasized that.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Congratulations @kimmysomelove42! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Plastic is evil. Kimmy have some cake for rising awareness

Cake and Bake! @yidneth LOL ;)61180552_2700042243346510_5629203963153743872_n.jpg

Nice one kimmy! you sound like you got it figured and, and know how to apply pressure when needed! ..

Systems, yes its all about systems and habits.. and systems really make it easy for us to make new habits.. it doesnt take long before we forget all about the ways we used to do things..

great entry, top notch!

Thanks mate and thanks for stopping by..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87