From THIS to THIS in 2 years! More than just a food forest....it's a Wellness Center.

What we grow here at Kindred Acres is not only super high-quality food for us but food for pollinators, food for the worms and soil-dwelling creatures, medicines, and so much more. We put our love and energy into this space and it has gifted us so much more in return. To me, living like this is medicine in itself. Take a look at these pictures for yourself and tell me it doesn't bring a smile to your face or fill your heart with joy to see all the beautiful colors, flowers, nature creatures, etc.? Imagine the energy you would feel stepping into this space. The sweet smell of the air. The sounds of the songbirds (and of course our crazy rooster BAHAHAH). It's enough to warm anyone's heart.

First let's start with the before picture. As you can see it was a pretty blank canvas in need of much love.

image.png

This 'after' picture does no justice because my camera cannot get the full angle to show how lush and full the far left and right sides of this space are. In the original above picture, you were able to see the entire space but the camera I have now does not show it all. I have a friend that offered to take a panoramic view for me so once I get that I can post it. :) Also, it's October....fall...so the 'after' picture isn't even as lush as it was a month or two ago yet still you can see this massive transformation.

image.png

I still have a long way to go but this is only a small portion of our food forest in the making. This is maybe 1/3 of it if even that. We have 3.5 acres in total. This is just the back fenced in yard. We will be working up the side area next (putting in a Sacred Circle, Curly Willow Trees, and a few other things) and then a nut orchard in the far front....so much more to do to pull my food forest project together but focusing on one small area at a time helps me to stay sane, focused, and on target. I did most of this by myself. I don't have special equipment....just a pull cart, shovel, and rake. It's a LOT of hard work upfront but when done RIGHT it runs itself and pays you back tenfold! What we do here is REGENERATIVE growing. We use BTE/No-Till/Lasagna (whichever term you'd like to coin it) methods. We live SE of Raleigh NC. It's hot here! We hit triple-digit heat often. This year we had a drought for MONTHS and were in triple-digit heat EVEN IN OCTOBER....yet I still hardly had to water.

We had a workshop a few days ago and I had the participants pick any spot they wanted to dig down into the woodchips to see just how moist it was below. They were in shock. I was able to show them chocolate cake soil that I had built up, the earthworms by the handfuls, and allow them to taste the super juicy, flavorful, and nutrient-dense food we were growing. The food has more flavor than anything you will get in a grocery store. I was so happy to share this with others and help inspire them! It really made my heart skip a beat when one of the participants said she couldn't wait to get home and implement this in her own space! YES!! That is what we do here at Kindred Acres!! This is why I offer low-cost workshops! This is why I blog! To teach people FOOD IS FREE! And you CAN grow food responsibly and using regenerative practices!! We do NOT fertilize using store-bought fertilizers. We hardly use water for our gardens. We are BUILDING the soil up vs destroying it. YOU TOO can do this!! Follow along on our blog for tips and ideas!! For now, take a look at some close-up pics from today's stroll around the food forest. :)

Iris flowers looking great! They have bloomed all year.
image.png

Thai Basil, Lemongrass, and Roselle make a beautiful wild area.
image.png

We have a few types of sunflowers around.
image.png

Okra flowers are so pretty :)
image.png

image.pngOkra

Roselle flowers (Aka Jamaican Sorrel, Florida Cranberry, Cranberry Hibiscus) ....similar in look to okra. So pretty.
image.png

image.png

One of my favorite pumpkins if not THE #1 in my book....Thai Kang Kob. We have 6 almost ready. :)
image.png

Long Island Cheese Pumpkins still doing good! We will have 3 in time, and 1 that might not be fully ready before the freeze but will still be edible none the less (or chicken food)
image.png

Another LI Cheese pumpkin
image.png

This pineapple sage has been a big source of food for so many living things. Can you spot the creamy colored butterfly?
image.png

And there on the left, hanging off the branch is a yellow butterfly.
image.png

A very low type of sunflower. These just barely come up to my knees. Super cute and great for filling in.
image.png

Sweet potatoes are flowering
image.png

Lettuce doing well
image.png

The long run....I started dividing the banana trees. Took two young ones off today. In about a week I'll take another one out of the cluster. Most are being gifted to friends and family. One was moved to the larger food forest area and of course the mama plant will stay where she is.
image.png

Jerusalem Artichoke flowers with goldenrod growing in the background. Goldenrod may be considered a weed to some but to others it's a medicine. If you aren't familiar with this plant it's worth looking up.
;) Also, you can see the turmeric peeking up in the mix of it all and beans mingling around, wrapping the chokes in a loose hug. ;). Haha. The type of turmeric we are growing this year is Hawaiian Gold. Turmeric is super medicinal and we use a good bit of it so why not grow it fresh!!??
image.png

We had a monarch visit us here at Kindred Acres during our workshop yesterday. I was pretty shocked because it is late in the season for them. She was eating from our Jeruselum Artichoke plants. We just obtained milkweed seeds and will be planting some so next year we should have food for them!
image.png

It's growing.....
image.png

Lots of peppers still coming in. We have several Arjvarski bushes, a few sweet bells, a few Hungarian peppers, a few Italian Peperoncini, and a few hot peppers of some sort. These are Arjvarski in this picture....my favorite of all sweet peppers.
image.png
And these are a hot pepper of sorts....
image.png

Chinese long beans still going strong!
image.png

Daisy flowers opened. :)
image.png

More sunflowers. :)
image.png

All-Heal ( Prunella Vulgaris) herb filling in nicely. A must-have herb in your apothecary garden.
image.png

And one of my favorite pictures. Yes. Plants can hear you. Plants can feel your energy. And yes, my plants know all my deep dark secrets. Haha. They make the BEST therapists. ;)
image.png

Leave us a comment with your favorite or 'must-have' plant. We'd love to hear from you.

With lots of love
~Kindred Acres

If you find our blog posts and videos helpful or inspiring and would like to provide a love offering to Kindred Acres for all we do here, you can give us an upvote/comment here on steemit, give us a thumbs up on Youtube, or you can gift us an item from our Amazon wishlist! :) http://a.co/7U2Ibw5

Another option is to send any financial contribution ($1, $5, or whatever you are compelled to leave) via https://www.paypal.me/KindredAcres
We greatly appreciate your help and contributions!

Check out our Etsy shop for live plants, seeds, homestead goodies, crafts, and other options!
https://www.etsy.com/shop/KindredAcres?ref=seller-platform-mcnav

Follow us on Facebook to get notified of any upcoming events https://www.facebook.com/KindredAcresHomesteadAndWellness/
Upvote us on Steemit to show us some love and support!! https://steemit.com/@kindredacres

Give us a thumbs up, subscribe, and hit that bell on our YouTube channel!! https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiZ8ynfylR5kIR9DnfcGP1g?view_as=subscriber

And finally,

Follow us on Instagram!
https://www.instagram.com/soulofagypsy_heartofahippie/

NaturalMedicine.jpgBeing in Charge of Our Own Health: A Little Disclaimer | SteemPeak

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this. It's very inspiring to see the sort of transformation that's possible with love, time and some hard work!

Thank you! We have a vision and I'm quite an ambitious person. When I site my sets I will work my tail off to make it happen. :) We still have so much more to do so keep following along!! ;)

That's really impressive, all by yourself! I love your different range of plants and that you can grow turmeric! I managed to grow ginger here in new England in a hoophouse for 2 -3 years, and have thought about trying turmeric there too.

My must have plant is garlic, I think.

Thank you. I love to wildly polyculture. I HAVE to have a variety. I just MUST. Turmeric is pretty easy to grow in pots if you can't outside. You could also do what I taught my sis to do in NY....dig a big hole. Put a large flower pot in there. Then fill a second flower pot with compost and plant your turmeric in it. Slip the second pot into the first pot. When the weather gets to cool for it to be outside, take the inside pot out of the outer pot and bring it inside. :)

Thank you for using the #diy and #how-to tags. We have rewarded this post from our @build-it.curator account with BUILD tokens in the form of an upvote.


Build-it is a central hub for DIY and How-To projects. It's an opportunity to find and share the latest in DIY, and How-To tutorials. The recommended tags required when creating a DIY article are #diy, #build-it. #how-to, or #doityourself. Please read our guide


Need help? Live technical support on Discord or Telegram

|


This project is run and supported by our witness @gulfwaves.net. If you like what we do, click here to vote for us

Congratulations @kindredacres! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Absolutely stunning!! I love your enthusiasm for your garden - totally warranted. I've never been able to grow turmeric - so jealous! @quochuy grows his own. The transformation of your yard is fantubulous! So impressed! You are so right about building up the soil. Everything looks so beautiful.

PS Stop making me order more seeds..

Aww, thank you!! I appreciate it! I'd be happy to help troubleshoot what's going on with the turmeric for you. Just let me know if you are interested in giving it a go again! :)

I love having old photos around, just to be able to see the difference in such a short time in the garden. It can feel like not much had changed until you see the old photo.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is so lovely to see such a productive garden without a ton of watering, etc. I wish I lived closer so I could really walk around your garden, taking it all in! Love that you give affordable workshops sharing in your knowledge and expertise!

Thank you Porters! I appreciate that! It's my passion to teach others to do this. I'll continue to share pictures and knowledge during my journey. I appreciate you following along!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63517.53
ETH 3062.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81