Keeping the Seasonal Diseases at Bay.

As the seasons change from summer to winter, then again from winter to spring, there always seems to be a surge in contagious diseases. Usually colds, but sometimes flu or gastro. This is the time to shore up the immune system and take preventative action. In all honesty, I think keeping healthy to maintain a healthy immune system is an ongoing lifestyle choice, but when everyone is getting sick around me I'll double up on the vitamin C intake.

The best sources of vitamin C will come from fresh foods, as the cooking process destroys most of it. I could make a list of the foods which contain the highest amounts, but if you don't like them, then you won't eat them. So keep it fresh and you'll make the most of what the fruit, vegetable or even herb, has to offer. My favourite sources have to be fruits, but most fresh vegetables will have some in too, so salad can be a good way to go. Citrus is a good source, so squeezing fresh orange, lemon or lime juice over meals is a way I like to add more vitamin C.

Another way to get that good stuff while keeping up your hydration is by flavouring your water. My daughter likes to keep a bottle of filtered water in the fridge with lemon and cucumber infusing in it. Two great providers of electrolytes and, you can bet, there will be vitamin C in it too.

IMG_20191006_132202.jpg

However, this is all going to go to waste if you're eating food with refined sugar in (it’s in a lot more prepackaged foods than you might realise). Refined sugar mimics vitamin C and will replace it in your immune cells, leaving them firing blanks. You're better off replacing your sweet cravings with fruit. Now you see why my favourite sources of vitamin C are fruits!

You could, of course, take vitamin C supplements (and we do on occasion), but they generally aren't as readily absorbable as they would be from foods. You also never know what has been added to them and whether their sources are GMO, which they often are, unfortunately. The better supplements are usually the more expensive ones, so fresh fruit and vegetables is an affordable option that is also food, making it multipurpose, and I love multipurpose!

So, “Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food”


~○♤○~

This is my response to the @naturalmedicine preventative medicine challenge.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Great post. I am a big believer in keeping one's immune system firing on all cylinders. We always have a pile of fruit in our house. When my kids were little, I would cut up a bowl of fruit and just set it out...bam it would be gone in no time.
I drink lemon water in the morning then green tea the rest of the day, love the stuff.
Thanks for sharing😊

I'm not really big on infusions which is why it's never occurred to me that you can put cucumber in water XD (fruits made sense and also there's a few people at gymnastics that are pretty big on stuffing fruits into their kids water bottles).

I'm currently drinking ginger lemon honey concoction but it's being a treatment as I felt the damn cold settling in last night after I thought I'd successfully avoided it XD

I'm hopeful that I've avoided the last rind of colds. It's been a week or two since everyone else has recovered. I was mashing that very same concoction for my youngest over a month ago. She was the start of the contagion!

Hope you're feeling better soon.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Perfect, especially during hayfever season! Why anyone would choose coke over lemon in water is beyond me. Ive been LIVING off limes. Oh, and fire cider

Posted using Partiko Android

Even the thought of coke sets my teeth on edge! I feel like it strips the enamel from my teeth.

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool idea! Sounds refreshing and delicious. :))

@minismallholding thanks for updating us on stuff like this especially health issues. Awesome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70