Commence Apothecarianism!

Hhhhherbs!

This post is a partial response to @papa-pepper's question: what are you growing? I'll be covering most of the herbs that we intend to start this year.

I'm thoroughly tired of winter, as many of you are as well. So on top of the strawberries we started last week, I'm about to start some herbs.

IMG_20190210_110647889.jpg

Top left to right:

Stinging nettles so I can slap people. They're also good as greens and very nutritious. Here is an article with many medicinal uses as well, from diabetes to gout to hay fever, this is a promising herb!

White yarrow that I originally chose for it's flowers to attract pollinators, but I've learned through this and other articles that it is very useful for bleeding and antibiotic purposes. @sagescrub claims it works well as a mouthwash when tinctured, and I'm thinking I need a few gallons of tincturing alcohol for all the tinctures I'm going to want to make...

Feverfew partly because I think it grows here already and I want to compare... Also because it is supposed to be good, as the name suggests, against fevers. It's also good for migraines and other problems. I'm hoping it'll be a natural replacement for acetaminophen and ibuprofen, which I've heard can be dangerous for the liver, especially over time.

Sheep sorrel I wanted to grow originally for the sinus inflamation relief, but I'm finding that it is going to be an extremely powerful ally in my medicinal arsenal. An extreme antioxidant and supposed cancer treatment, I expect it'll be helpful for ailments small and large.

St. John's Wort is a renowned mental health herb for treating anxiety and depression, both of which plague my family (and many others) in various ways. It's also reportedly useful for conditions from psoriasis to PMS. This stuff may prove extremely beneficial.

Plantain is usually used for insect bites and poison ivy relief by nature of it's antitoxic benefits, but it is also useful for ailments from high cholesterol to irritable bowels, and is also reported to be an expectorant and urinary tonic. I'm excited for this one.

Lemon balm I have two of. It ended up that way when Baker Creek hooked us up with a freebie packet! Woot! I'm finding that these herbs have a lot of uses! Case in poinglt: anxiety, cold sores, and heart palpitations are just a few of the ailments that lemon balm can help with.

Cilantro because yum! Food as medicine! On top of being delicious, cilantro is a tonic that can help clear your body of toxic metals while also supporting eye and heart health. It is also good for liver and blood sugar regulation.

Borage was originally selected because of it's recommendation in oak guilds and as a pollinator attractor that compliments strawberries. Another medicinal food, it is supposed to help with respiratory and skin issues, which will help my family even more than in the garden. I believe I read somewhere that the popular hybridized comfreys were created by breeding true comfrey with borage and other plants.

Lemon basil because I enjoy the flavor of basil... And lemon! I'm hoping this medicinal food can help our family explore new recipes and cooking styles. It is reported to help with heartburn and may even help treat and prevent some cancers by inhibiting their growth. A bold claim.

Toothache plant, as the name suggests is mainly known for its numbing effect, but it also has antiviral and antibiotic properties that I've been embracing lately thanks to @papa-pepper. With it's vibratory sour zing, I'm wondering if it would be something that could be worked into a mild salsa or something... that might be cool to play with.

Agastache or "hummingbird mint, is a pollinator attractor of legendary fame. But it also has powerful healing properties for fevers and respiratory ailments. It's also been proven effective against herpes viruses and fungal infections.

Valerian is another mental health remedy for anxiety and insomnia that has the added uses of relieving epilepsy, pain, and high blood pressure. Thanks to @sagescrub, I know to be patient with this one.

Yeesh, that looks like a lot! This was supposed to be a quick post...

That's this year's meager start to medicinal herbs. In addition to the mullein and echinacea that I planted a while back. There'll probably be more, but that's what I'll be working on first as I start to build a local herbal medicine bank. I'll be tincturing some, drying some, and consuming some fresh in an attempt to learn and help whoever needs it. As I keep a personal stash, I intend to share and maybe sell some of the medicines I'm blessed to be able to produce.

I've started saving and stashing away glass bottles and jars in hopes of having enough containers for all these projects. Some of which, if I deem them good products, may end up on Homesteaders Co-op. That would be really cool to be able to produce these things on a scale that's large enough for myself, my local community, and an online network of friends and customers.

If you're tired of winter and dreaming of spring, maybe @papa-pepper's prompt can help you daydream and provide some insight on for your garden this year!

Now. Where the heck are my seed trays?!

Be blessed.
Be fruitful.
Stay relevant.

Nate.


cooplogowebsite.png
Purchase sustainably produced seeds, textiles, medicines, and more for SBD from @homesteaderscoop at The Homesteader's Co-op Online Marketplace!

video1549779729.gif
Follow @naturalmedicine and join the Natural Medicine discord channel today and come grow and learn with us!


Join us on the GHSC Discord and follow @ghscollective to become part of a global network of homesteaders!

Sort:  

Man, everything on your list except for Valerian is already going or about to be, although I do have Valerian seeds too! Excellent stuff, Stinging Nettle is one of my all time favorite plants hands down!

Mighty good start to your herb gardens. :))

Thanks! Looks pretty well rounded! Lots of flavors and remedies covered. That's kinda what I was hoping for. A solid starting point.

☑️

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 104 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

This is a great assortment @nateonsteemit! Best of luck :) I look forward to hear what sprouts!

Seems my sprouting pods molded! Glad I didn't put any seeds in them. They're over a year old now, so not super surprised or disappointed. I've got a big bag of starting medium. Need more trays, I've only got spots for 24 more starts!!! Eek! I'm gonna end up taking over the house with these things!

Ouch! Yeah good thing the seeds weren't there. You can use garlic spray, diluted vinegar or diluted hydrogen peroxide as antifungal. You can also try EM or compost tea if you have good compost tea. I am no longer using "sterile" soil mixes and instead using good compost mixed with sand for my starting mix and embracing the soil life. Also mold may be a sign of too much humidity or not enough drainage (or if its not humid and good drainage, possibly over watering or too frequent watering).

This was with a first watering, but drainage and ventilation are bad. Only took a couple days to mold.

I don't think the mix I bought is sterile, but I didn't check. Might add some compost to get some microorganisms going. That's a good idea.

You've been visited by @riverflows, on behalf of Natural Medicine. Love your work!

Oh, and we'd love it so much if you could nominate us here for the chance of a delegation from the generous @theycallmedan - it'd really help this little community support natural healing wisdoms on Steemit! Kisses and hugs and all things nice!

Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment in natural ways, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd so love to have you.

My Post 12.jpg
20SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01