Being in Charge of Our Own Health: A Little Disclaimer

pinterest Copy 2.jpg

Natural Medicine was created, in part, to invite conversation about natural healing and alternative therapies. We wanted to be a support group and a way for those interested in herbalism, yoga, tai chi, TCM and other healing modalities to connect and share resources and wisdom. For some of us at the beginning of what we are calling our ‘natural medicine journey’, the Discord channel and #naturalmedicine tag is a real blessing. We have conversations about making our own herbal tinctures, what to use for thrush or what essential oils might be good for headaches. We discuss the medicinal qualities of particular herbs, chat about meditative practices and what might be good natural medicines to support our mental health.

We are resistant to Big Pharma, of course, as we’ve learnt not to trust it and with good reason too. Many of us have negative experience with mainstream medicine – but that’s for another conversation. This conversation is, in part, to recognise the need for allopathic medicine in our lives too. We recognise the funding that has gone into science that supports modern medicine (whilst wishing a little bit more of that went into alternative therapies!) and know that an ‘avoid at all costs’ mentality might be quite dangerous. Immunotherapy for cancer, for example, shows great promise as an alternative treatment for cancer. Many doctors will recognise the use of particular herbs for anxiety – my own doctor, for example, is happy that I am taking St John’s Wort for anxiety over antidepressants. I was not going to suggest my sister drank a cup of chamomile and damiana tea when she was having chest pains, and she was right to call the ambulance that saved her life. Modern medicine is not always the devil, and a balance is always necessary and advisable - as is the case with most things in our lives!

Of course, we are all unique bodies with unique needs. One man’s poison can be another man’s cure, and the reverse is also true. Thus, it’s also important to know that advice offered to you must be taken in the spirit it is intended, and not as gospel truth. If someone has had wonderful success with Rescue Remedy for panic attacks, aloe vera for sunburn or elecampane for asthma, that’s fantastic news. They’re things worth talking about, and we love those conversations in Discord. However, we also must be prepared to research and find out for ourselves.

Whilst we have many practitioners in our group that are qualified in certain areas, like emotional freedom tapping, herbalism and TCM, and value their advice and many years of study and expertise, they really need to see you in person to make a full diagnosis and find the root cause of any problem. Are your headaches due to stress, or is there another cause for your pain? Is your stomach upset a bug, an allergy or a symptom of something more life threatening? Many of us are here are NOT experts – I certainly am not. Being part of this collective, we must value the need to be careful about what advice we offer people, and understand that if we ask for advice ourselves, ultimately, we're responsible for our own health – no one else.

With this in mind, we arrive at a more formal disclaimer for the purpose of clarity.
It’s important to recognise that any information offered on any blog or vlog on Steemit using the #naturalmedicine tag is for educational purposes only. Natural Medicine itself makes neither medical claim or intends to diagnose medical conditions. Links to external sites are for informational purposes only. Natural Medicine neither endorses them nor is in anyway responsible for their content. Readers MUST do their own research concerning the safety and usage of any herbs or supplements. If you are pregnant or nursing consult a professional before using herbs.

With all my love, and with utmost support for all of you on your natural healing journeys,

@riverflows and the whole Natural Medicine team.


image.png

video1550178853.gif

Natural Medicine Needs YOU! Please consider delegating to @naturalmedicine by clicking any amount below to help keep this collective going. The minimum entry for membership is 20SP (free for members under 150SP), and helps support and celebrate your work with natural remedies, healings and nurturings on this gorgeous blockchain! Join us on Discord here - we'd love to have you!

10SPII20SPII50SPII75SPII100SPII200II300SPII500SPII1000SP
heartlogo.fw.png

Sort:  

Very good. Maybe we should link to this post at the bottom soft all our community posts just to be safe.

It's in Discord now too. But yes, we could! Xxx

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes that's a good suggestion. I also agree.

Posted using Partiko Android

A very wisely written piece @riverflows and important to protect us all from those unbelievers always looking for wats to put us down and ridicule those who prefer to use #naturalmedicine. There are many scenarios where orthodox medicine is the right choice and it saves lives, but when situations are less serious the choice of going natural should always be respected. In China they have hospitals which use both traditional and Western medicine in combination with great success . We are seeing more of this blending of science and nature nowadays which is so promising. Love your work🙏

Thankyou, @enjoycompany .. and a lovely comment too xx

Posted using Partiko Android

Well said @riverflows. I echo everything that you have mentioned in this article. We cannot completely avoid modern medicine and completely rely on herbal medicines alone.

My case for example, for the past 20 days I have been suffering from continuous cold and ill health conditions. Till yesterday I was only with herbal remedies. But yesterday I decided to visit a doctor to get a fast cure. Not because herbal medication was not working but wanted to make sure I'm doing the right thing.

Allopathic medication can have side effects and some can even mislead but in my case I wanted to be sure that my condition is not related to any complicated disease or something just because it's been there for nearly 20 days. I have also been careless with my health for the past one month because I traveled a lot in the past 20 days. So that can also be a reason.

But again I went for an allopathic solution because I cannot extend my leaves from work anymore. I'm currently working from home which one cannot do forever. I have to go to office and sit in that AC and in order to do that my body will need resistance as soon as possible. 😊😁

Posted using Partiko Android

What did the doctor say, out of interest? Hope you get better soon. It isn't nice being in AC all day and feeling ill.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well that was a funny experience. 😄 When I told my conditions one by one she started writing tablets one by one in the prescription. When I told throat pain, she wrote an antibiotic in the prescription. Next when I told my nose is blocked, she wrote a nasal drop. She asked me if I had cough, I said no. If I had said yes, she would have written a cough syrup. Then I told I had fever and body pain, she wrote a paracetamol for that.

There was no root cause analysis as such. But I can't blame her. I know that's how it will be and in spite of knowing that only I went there. But she told that there is no need for any further tests. I took the medicines for a day and felt a little better.

Today I'm feeling a little better. Going to office today. Thanks for asking @riverflows.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 3 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 288 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Most eloquently put, River. We should approach everything with open minds and open knowledge. There is always good and bad in everything, but what worries me is that so many believe only one path is the right path. Different people react differently to any medicine, whether it's natural or allopathic. What may not be good for you in the long run, might be the thing which saves your life today so you can get back on track.

I'd love too see more of these two medicines coming back together and complimenting one another.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for this @riverflows! It is wonderful to have this Natural Medicine community but it's also very important to not have it taken for something it is not.
With your heads up we can continue on safely, sharing and supporting each other on our healing journeys. Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77