You say papaya, I say pawpaw: Fruit as Natural Medicine

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: You say papaya, I say pawpaw: Fruit as Natural Medicine


Please find that all our content is now visible on HIVE. We'll see you there!

All the same LOTUS lovin', and the same welcome - but on a far more decentralised, ethical and blossoming blockchain!

Much love!

Sort:  

We share a dislike for the taste of Papaya! Not my favourite fruit either I must say. I'm a big fan of lemon as fruit medicine. I think I already mentioned honey and lemon green-tea on discord, great for hangovers and digestive discomfort! As well as being a traditional remedy for a sore throat (A little whiskey in there also works a treat!) I also use lemon juice in my natural shampoo and all-purpose surface cleaner. Awesome post 🌿😘💚

Lemons are the best. Do you have your own lemon tree?

We have a little one. It actually produced something this year. A few small, skinny lemons!

Green papaya is BIG NATURAL MEDICINE here in Thailand. We eat it raw, grated, as a spicy salad called Som Tum. It removes bowel plaque phenomenally and so is a brilliant cleansing food. It is a go-to food by Thai people whenever they're feeling poorly. It is unbelievably rich in enzymes and the basis for most commercial enzyme supplements you see in the west. I will make spicy som tum for you when you visit. :)

Yeeeh papayah-bok-bok!! Love me a 2 chilli som tum sweat down lol! Got my lunch decision made for the day thanks. Oh and River so funny my Jamie don't enjoy ripe pawpaw either, though gut health is immune health and well a coffee grinder works perfect to powder up some dry seeds to throw in a smoothie if that helps disguise the taste. Works in our house 💚

That sounds amazing, @artemislives - I would love that. I love thai food. I like green papaya, but not the overripe stuff - ugh - @riverflows. xx

We use ripe papaya in smoothies with a lot of lime and banana - Thai standards - and the overripe stuff is PERFECT with honey and a little bentonite clay for natural facials. I have a whole series of natural kitchen face-body masks and scrub posts planned. :)

Thanks it is great to learn more about Pawpaw.

Thanks @j850683! No pawpaw in Tassie.... xx

Only the ones that get freighted in from the big island :)

No pawpaws here either. But we do have an abundance of organically grown, nutrient densely raised wild blueberries. We pick and freeze up 100 lbs each year. We eat a LOT of them.

I have been very jealous of your blackberry picking!

Blueberry, different plant.... Some times I wish I had blackberries, but then, I don't! LOL

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by riverflows from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @naturalmedicine! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I am so glad you are back to normal. I know how arduous the healing process can be for infections of that nature. I didn't know any of this about papaya so It was a great food medicine lesson!

I don't think I've met a fruit I didn't like and I certainly I like papaya, but it's too expensive. It's been years since I had one. I am currently stuffing as many blackberries into my body as I can possibly manage though.

oh my god who wouldn't - yum!! Okay, here's the challenge @walkerland - durian fruit!!!! Have you had it? I like most fruits too - papaya though is very 'meh' to me. And durian is another story entirely!

oh I've never had it. Living in Rural Canada I'm not likely to get the chance at it for a while. I like stinky cheese and my husband won't come near me when I snack on cheese n' onion crisps so ...

Anthony Bourdain, who actually enjoys eating the stinky fruit, colorfully describes the aftermath of eating it: ‘Your breath will smell as if you’d been French-kissing your dead grandmother’.

I'm in. If I can ever find some to try! You've had it? What did you think?

It tastes okay.. sweet.. but the smell just counteracts all of that!!!! Ha... love Bourdains description..

We call it Pepaya in Bahasa Indonesia and people who Java Island mostly called it with Kates ☺️

Posted using Partiko Android

With Kates? Is that what you mean?

Sorry wrong typo, I mean Kate's , whuups... Auto typo on.... Kates, that I mean ☺️

Posted using Partiko Android

🤖 Congratulations! You've been featured in the new @SMG co-curators digest. Thanks for being one of our cherished authors. Read how much we love and appreciate your work here: https://steemit.com/vlogs/@smg/smg-digest-or-dtube-vlogging-papaya-pawpaw-steemhunt-airdrop-away-to-lugano-and-breathing-seasons

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85